Pro 14: Johnny Sexton to bench in Leinster-Ulster grand final

This Saturday, Leinster and Ulster will star in the great final of the Pro 14 and, without a doubt, the most striking thing will be that the Irish starter Johnny Sexton will be on the substitute bench and Ross Byrne will be the 10th starter of the team that won absolutely all the matches he played in the competition and defeated Munster in the semi-final.

On the other hand, it should be noted that those led by Leo Cullen will have two experienced players in the center of the court: Garry Ringrose, who will also be the team captain, and Robbie Henshaw.

Notably, Ringrose made his official Leinster debut in September 2015 and will make his 75th appearance on the team this Saturday.

On the side of Ulster, who beat Edinburgh in the semifinal thanks to an agonizing penalty from Ian Madigan in the last of the game, the best news will be the return of the second row and captain Iain Henderson, who has not played since the resumption of the current one. season.

A curious and striking fact is that head coach Dan McFarland made the decision to have 6 forwards and only 2 backs on the substitute bench.

Leinster: 15 Jordan Larmour, 14 Hugo Keenan, 13 Garry Ringrose (c), 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 James Lowe, 10 Ross Byrne, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Jack Conan, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Caelan Doris, 5 James Ryan , 4 Devin Toner, 3 Andrew Porter, 2 Rónan Kelleher, 1 Cian Healy.

Substitutes: 16 James Tracy, 17 Ed Byrne, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Scott Fardy, 20 Will Connors, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Johnny Sexton, 23 Rory O’Loughlin.

Ulster: 15 Michael Lowry, 14 Rob Lyttle, 13 James Hume, 12 Stuart McCloskey, 11 Jacob Stockdale, 10 Billy Burns, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Marcell Coetzee, 7 Sean Reidy, 6 Matthew Rea, 5 Iain Henderson (c), 4 Alan O ‘Connor, 3 Tom O’Toole, 2 Rob Herring, 1 Eric O’Sullivan.

Substitutes: 16 John Andrew, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Marty Moore, 19 Sam Carter, 20 Jordi Murphy, 21 John Cooney, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Nick Timoney.

Stadium: Aviva Stadium, Dublin.
Referee: Andrew Brace.
Assistants: Frank Murphy and George Clancy.
TMO: Brian MacNeice.