How did Los Pumas do in all the World Cup draws?

How did Los Pumas do in all the World Cup draws?

On Monday, December 14, the groups for RWC 2023 in France will be raffled, in which Los Pumas will have a difficult area, having finished in the third ciborium. In Scrum we do a review, World by World, of the groups that the Argentine team made up.

New Zealand 1987

In the first World Cup, Los Pumas integrated Group C with the local, Fiji and Italy. Argentina fell to Fiji and the All Blacks (champions of the tournament), while to Azzurra they got their first triumph in an RWC. He was eliminated in the first round.

England 1991

Again in Group C, Los Pumas shared the area with Wales, Samoa and Australia (tournament champion). They fell in their three presentations and were eliminated in the first round.

South Africa 1995

The Pumas made up Group B along with England, Samoa and Italy. There were three falls and elimination in the first round for the Argentine team.

Wales 1999

Wales, again Samoa and Japan were the rivals of Los Pumas in Group D. There was a fall against the Europeans and two victories that made it possible to go to the playoff with Ireland to get into the quarterfinals. Argentina would beat Trébol and reach the quarterfinals of a World Cup for the first time, where they would lose to France.

Australia 2003

The Pumas shared Group A with the local team, Ireland, Romania and Namibia. They lost to the first two, beat the last two and were eliminated.

France 2007

A tough Group D for Los Pumas: Les Bleus, Ireland, Georgia and Namibia. The Argentine national team beat everyone, then beat Scotland in the quarterfinals and lost to South Africa in the semifinals. He would close the World Cup with an unforgettable victory against France to get the Bronze.

New Zealand 2011

England, Scotland, Georgia and Romania made up, along with Los Pumas, Group B. The Argentine national team fell to the one led by Wilkinson, defeated the other three with a remembered duel against Cardo: González Amorosino’s Maradonean try (and the conversion de Felipe Contepomi) put Los Pumas in the quarterfinals, where they would fall to the All Blacks, who would end up being champions of the tournament.

England 2015

New Zealand, Tonga, Georgia and Namibia were the rivals of Los Pumas in the last World Cup. Tight fall in the debut against the All Blacks and three victories put Hourcade’s men in the quarterfinals, where they would star in their best game: a win over Ireland and go to the semifinals. There, the Wallabies would beat Los Pumas who would later run out of Bronze by losing to the Springboks.

Japan 2019

After an easier area in 2015, Los Pumas once again had very tough crosses and they paid dearly for it. England led the pack and then France, Tonga and the United States completed the zone with Argentina. The cast led by Mario Ledesma fell to the two European powers, defeated the islanders and the Eagles and was eliminated.

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win