Two punishment shots for Abraham Ancer after a good first round of the Augusta Masters

Two punishment shots for Abraham Ancer after a good first round of the Augusta Masters

The Mexican had finished 1 over par, but was penalized for touching the sand on his backswing on the 15th hole.

Abraham Ancer unknowingly touched the sand with his club before making his third stroke on the 15th hole. from a bunker on the green on Thursday and fHe was awarded a 2-stroke penalty after the first round of the Masters.

Abraham Ancer had originally signed a 73-stroke card (one over par) and walked out of the end area. But the video was reviewed by the Augusta National rules committee for a possible infraction of Rule 12.2b (1), which states that touching the sand in a bunker behind the ball results in a penalty.

Since it was considered visible to the naked eye, a penalty was imposed. If it had not been visible, the Mexican golfer would not have been penalized.

Abraham Ancer expressed his disappointment at the penalty on his account Twitter.

“I have just been informed that I have been given a 2-stroke penalty for inadvertently skimming the sand on my backswing at the 15th hole,” Ancer wrote. “Although quite hurt by the news, we have to fight him hard tomorrow.”

Ancer’s score on par 5 of 15 went from 6 to 8. At that point he was on par with the round and finished with a score of 75.

Tomorrow the 30-year-old Mexican will continue his weekend in one of the most important Majors of the tour. Last year he finished 13th on the meadows of Augusta National Golf Club, his best finish in one of the four major PGA tournaments.

The leader is English Justin Rose who signed a -7 under par card. Ancer will start tomorrow from position 52, the penalty of two strokes in the general classification cost him a lot, however, his golf has had the consistency to think that he will recover and pass the cut tomorrow Friday.

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win