Davis Cup: Innsbruck and Turin join Madrid as venues

Davis Cup: Innsbruck and Turin join Madrid as venues

New change in Davis Cup. The world’s premier team tennis tournament now It will be played in three European cities, as Innsbruck and Turin joined Madrid. The International Tennis Federation (ITF) and Kosmos Tennis announced this Monday that the council of the highest entity approved the proposal and the 2021 Finals will be played from November 25 to December 5 with a multi-site format in three cities.

The Spanish capital remains as the headquarters and then Innsbruck, in Austria, and Turin, in Italy, are added to host 18 teams in the international elite.

Each of the cities will host the group stage of two zones and a quarter-final match, which in the case of Madrid will be two, always on the main court. The Spanish capital will also host the semifinals and the final.

Matches in Madrid will be played at the Madrid Arena, in the Casa de Campo, which replaces the Caja Mágica. The central court has capacity for 10,000 spectators. It should be remembered that what was the Rockódromo was already the first venue of the men’s Masters 1000 from 2002 to 2008.

In Innsbruck, the venue will be the Olympia-Halle and, in Turin, the Pala Alpitour Arena. The Italian city pavilion hosts the ATP Masters Cup the week before, with the presence of the eight best on the circuit. Austria will host in their country and the same will happen with Italy in Turin. The three venues and the new 11-day competition format will improve match schedules for players.

As of 2022, due to the reduction of the format from 18 teams to 16, the venues that will host the best tennis players in the world will be reduced to two.

In Madrid:

Group A: Spain, Russia and Ecuador

Group B: Canada, Kazakhstan and Sweden

Quarter finals:

Group A winner vs best second in group

Group B winner vs best second in group

Semifinals and Final

In Innsbruck:

Group C: France, Great Britain and Czech Republic

Group F: Serbia, Germany and Austria

Quarterfinals: Winner Group C vs Winner Group F

In Turin:

Group D: Croatia, Australia and Hungary

Group E: United States, Italy and Colombia

Quarterfinals: Winner Group D vs Winner Group E

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win