Everything you need to know about the new European Super League

Everything you need to know about the new European Super League

Learn about the competition format of the new European Super League, as well as the participating teams

A group of the twelve most important clubs in the world have decided to reveal themselves to the status quo and create a Super League, which will include teams such as Real Madrid, Barcelona, ​​Milan and Manchester United, in a tournament that will be played as follows.

There will be 15 fixed clubs in the tournament each year, including Milan, Arsenal, Atlético de Madrid, Chelsea, Barcelona, ​​Internazionale Milano, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham Hotspur, plus five others. teams that will be classified annually, according to the results of their competition.

What will the competition system be?

The 20 clubs that are considered for the European Super League will be divided into two groups of 10 teams and will play roundtrip matches. Once that round is finished, the four best teams in each sector qualify and the knockout round will begin, which will end with a final to a single match.

When would the tournament start?

According to the organizers, the Super League will start as soon as possible and that date is expected to be next August, since the tournament between the best teams in Europe intends to start next season.

What day will the games be played?

The matches will be played in the middle of the week, so that each club will be able to fulfill the commitments of its local championship, in addition that the profits will be distributed equally among all the clubs involved.

FIFA and UEFA have opposed the Super League, because it is a tournament that is outside their jurisdiction. They have threatened clubs and footballers to exclude them from any competition organized by the two soccer entities, although the clubs have paid little attention to the notices.

Florentino Pérez, current president of Real Madrid, is the president of the Super League and revealed that the creation of this new competition is “to help football at all levels to occupy its rightful place in the world.” For their part, Andrea Agneli, president of Juventus, and Joel Glazer, co-president of Manchester United, will serve as vice-presidents of the Super League.

Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich, two of the most important clubs in the Bundesliga, have opposed the creation of the Super League so it seems unlikely that they will join for the inaugural season. Similarly, PSG, which has players like Kilyan Mbappé and Neymar in its squad, also reportedly declined the invitation to participate in the new tournament.

The US bank JP Morgan, through a spokesperson, confirmed to the EFE news agency that they will be responsible for financing the operation.

How much money would the clubs make?

According to the newspaper El País, the new European competition would distribute more than 3,500 million euros and highlights that the clubs involved would receive different amounts although all would enter their coffers at least 60 million and the champion would receive a prize of 250 million euros.

What medium will broadcast the games?

According to Italian press reports, the ‘DAZN’ platform would buy the television rights and is expected to pay a large sum of money.

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win