Stephen Curry, Nikola Jokic and Joel Embiid, finalists of the MVP

Stephen Curry, Nikola Jokic and Joel Embiid, finalists of the MVP

Denver Nuggets center Nikola Jokic, Philadelphia 76ers center Joel Embiid and Golden State Warriors guard Stephen Curry are the finalists for this year’s NBA Most Valuable Player award.

The top three vote winners for each of the NBA’s top end-of-season awards – MVP, Defensive Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year, Most Improved Player and Coach of the Year – were announced on ‘Inside The NBA ‘on TNT before the Washington Wizards and Indiana Pacers meet for eighth place in the Eastern Conference.

For Jokic, Embiid and Curry, winning the sport’s greatest honor will be a historic endeavor. Jokic or Embiid’s victory would mark the first time a center was named NBA MVP since Shaquille O’Neal in 2000. Curry, meanwhile, would become one of only nine players in NBA history to win at least three MVP awards, tying it with Magic. Johnson, Larry Bird, and Moses Malone on that list.

Jokic had one of the best offensive seasons in League history, averaging 26.4 points, 10.8 rebounds and 8.3 assists, while shooting 56.6 percent overall, 38.8 percent from 3-point range and 86.8 percent from the baseline. lack. He got 90 out of 101 possible first-place votes in ESPN’s MVP poll last month, and he’s the big favorite to win the award.

Embiid had the best season of his career, averaging 28.5 points, 10.6 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 1.4 blocks per game for the Sixers, leading to the best record in the Eastern Conference.

Curry became the oldest player to lead the league in scoring since Michael Jordan, averaging 32 points per game, recovering from missing all but five games last year to play 63 this year. It led Golden State in the Play-in tournament, with the Warriors facing the Memphis Grizzlies in the Play-in game for eighth place in the Western Conference on Friday night on ESPN after losing to the Los Angeles Lakers in the Staples Center on Wednesday night.

Utah Jazz center Rudy Gobert, winner of two Defensive Player of the Year awards, is a finalist to win a third this season, joined by Sixers point guard Ben Simmons and Warriors forward Draymond Green, the winner of the award in 2017.

A trio of guards, LaMelo Ball of the Charlotte Hornets, Anthony Edwards of the Minnesota Timberwolves and Tyrese Haliburton of the Sacramento Kings, led the voting for Rookie of the Year, while two of Gobert’s teammates in the Jazz: forward Joe English and the escort. Jordan Clarkson were named finalists for the Sixth Man alongside New York Knicks guard Derrick Rose.

The honors for the Knicks didn’t stop there, as Rose’s teammate, forward Julius Randle, is one of three finalists for Most Improved Player, along with Detroit Pistons forward Jerami Grant and forward from the Nuggets Michael Porter Jr. Randle. Coach Tom Thibodeau, who won the Coach of the Year award in 2011, has a chance to win it a decade later, as he, Phoenix Suns coach Monty Williams, and Jazz coach Quin Snyder are the finalists of that award.

The NBA is returning to its long tradition this year and announcing the various award winners during the Playoffs, as opposed to the recently created end-of-season awards show. The League did the same during its bubble at the Walt Disney World Resort in Orlando, Florida last year.

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win