Futsal: the National Team returns to training for the World Cup

Futsal: the National Team returns to training for the World Cup

With a roster of 15 players, coach Matías Lucuix will resume preparatory training for the World Cup with the aim of confirming the names of the players who will travel to Lithuania in September. Footballers who finish their competitions in Europe can be added to the list.

After carrying out the corresponding swabs, the first week of work will be from June 1 to 3, from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Of the fifteen summoned, six are players from San Lorenzo, who recently became champion of the Copa Libertadores . Four from Boca, two from Kimberley, two from Racing and one from Hebraica: Lucas Farach (Kimberley), Brian Steccato (San Lorenzo), Marcos Ferreyra (Racing), Damián Stazzone (San Lorenzo), Juan Pablo Cuello (Boca), Lucas Bolo Alemany (San Lorenzo), Matías Edelstein (Hebraica), Constantino Vaporaki (Boca), Dylan Vargas (San Lorenzo), Andrés Geraghty (Kimberley), Gerardo Menzeguez (San Lorenzo), Ariel Pais (Racing), Lucio Thorp (Boca) , Pablo Vidal (Boca) and Tomás Pescio (San Lorenzo).

The Selection thus returns to the preparation for the World Cup that will be held this year in Lithuania, from September 12 to October 3.


With the 24 teams confirmed, the draw for the IX edition of the Futsal World Cup Lithuania 2021 will be held in Zurich next Tuesday, June 1 at 12 noon (Argentine time). The draw can be followed live on FIFA.com and AFA networks.

Argentina will be drawn within the first ciborium and for the assembly of the six groups, the criterion will be that there are not two teams from the same confederation in each one, with the exception of UEFA, where, due to the number of participating teams, two teams will compete in the same group. The scores from the last four World Cups and qualifying tournaments were taken into consideration for the allocation of the cups.

The National Teams that will participate in the FIFA competition are:

CONCACAF: United States (Sixth participation, last in 2008. Runner-up in 1992), Costa Rica (Fifth participation, third consecutive), Panama (Third consecutive participation) and Guatemala (Fifth participation, fourth consecutive)

CONMEBOL:Argentina (Ninth participation. Champion in 2016), Brazil (Ninth participation. Five-time champion and top winner), Paraguay (Seventh participation, fifth in a row), Venezuela (Newcomer).

Africa: Morocco (Third consecutive participation), Egypt (Seventh consecutive participation) and Angola (Debutante)

UEFA: Lithuania (Host and newcomer), Portugal (Sixth consecutive participation), Spain (Ninth participation. Two-time champion and seven times semi-finalist), Russia (Eighth consecutive participation. Current runner-up), Kazakhstan (Third participation, second consecutive), Czech Republic (Fourth participation, second consecutive) ) and Serbia (Second participation)

Asia: Uzbekistan (Third participation, second consecutive), Japan (Fifth participation), Iran (Eighth consecutive participation. Bronze in 2016), Thailand and Vietnam

Oceania: Solomon Islands (Fourth consecutive participation)

Allocation of Ciboriums

Based on a classification based on sporting results, the 24 qualified teams will be divided into four pots or cups with six teams each. This classification is based on the points obtained in the last five futsal world championships (three points for a game won, one for drawing and zero for defeat). Therefore, this classification will be made from the points obtained in the futsal world championships of 2016, 2012, 2008, 2004 and 2000.

To ensure that this ranking accurately reflects the current state of form of the different teams, more weight will be given to the most recent Futsal World Cup. The results of previous years will also be taken into account, although they will have less weight. The system uses five cycles, since the points obtained in a futsal World Cup lose their value linearly over the last five cycles:

• Year 2016: 100% of the value of the total points

• Year 2012: 80% of the value of the total points

• Year 2008: 60% of the value of the total points

• Year 2004: 40% of the value of the total points

• Year 2000: 20% of the value of the total points

Additionally, five points are added to each confederation champion who has won a qualifying tournament. In the case of UEFA, five points will be added to the top-ranked team in the last UEFA standings, out of the four winners of qualifying tournaments.

Under this ranking, the top five teams and the host will enter pot # 1, the next six teams will enter pot # 2, and so on as follows:

Pot 1 Lithuania Spain Brazil Argentina Russia Portugal

Pot 2 Iran Paraguay Egypt Costa Rica Thailand Czech Republic

Pot 3 Solomon Islands Japan Guatemala Kazakhstan Serbia Panama

Pot 4 Morocco Vietnam USA Uzbekistan Angola Venezuela

Draw procedure

• The four pots will be labeled with numbers from 1 to 4. • The six pots that represent the groups are marked with letters from A to F. In each of them, there will be four balls with the numbers of the positions of the selections ( 1, 2, 3 and 4) in the respective group. • The toss begins with pot 1 and ends with pot 4. All balls will be drawn from one pot before moving on to the next. • First, a ball will be drawn from the teams ‘drum, and then another from the groups’ drum; in this way, the positions in which the teams will play will be assigned.

Restrictions 1- In the first pot, Lithuania will be the red ball and will be assigned position A1 in advance as the host team. 2- FIFA will apply the general principle of preventing two teams from the same confederation from being included in the same group, with the exception of a group with two UEFA teams given the number of participants from the European continent

World Cup honor roll

2016: Argentina 5-4 Russia (Colombia)

2012: Brazil 3-2 Spain after overtime (Thailand)

2008: Brazil 2-2, 4-3 on penalties (Brazil)

2004: Spain 2-1 Italy (Chinese Taipei)

2000: Spain 4-3 Brazil (Guatemala)

1996: Brazil 6-4 Spain (Spain)

1992: Brazil 4-1 United States (Hong Kong)

1989: Brazil 2-1 Netherlands (Holland)

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win