Erling Haaland, the first Norwegian to become UEFA Champions League top scorer

Erling Haaland, the first Norwegian to become UEFA Champions League top scorer

Erling Haaland, Borussia Dortmund forward, is the first Norwegian to be the top scorer in the UEFA Champions League, an award in which he takes over from Poland’s Robert Lewandowski, a Bayern Munich striker.

After playing the final in Porto between Manchester City and Chelsea, Haaland has been proclaimed top scorer of the 2020/21 ‘Champions’ with ten goals, which he added until the round of 16, in which he became the executioner of Sevilla, at scoring two goals in the first leg at Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán and another two in the second leg at Signal Iduna Park.

In the quarterfinals, against City, he did not score. Haaland outscored the French Kylian Mbappe (PSG) by two goals and the Spanish Álvaro Morata (Juventus), the Englishman Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), the Brazilian Neymar (PSG), the French Olivier Giroud (Chelsea), the Moroccan Youssef En-Nesyri (Sevilla), the Egyptian Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) and the French Karim Benzema (Real Madrid).

It is the lowest figure for a Champions League top scorer in a season since Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Neymar (Barcelona) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) reached ten in 2014/15.

Last year Lewandowski scored fifteen goals, in the 2018/19 edition Messi reached 12 and in the previous three Cristiano Ronaldo accumulated 15, 12 and 16.

– Scorers classification:

10 goals Erling Haaland (NOR / Dortmund)

8 Kylian Mbappé (FRA / PSG)

6 Álvaro Morata (ESP / Juventus)

6 Marcus Rashford (ING / Manchester United)

6 Neymar (BRA / PSG)

6 Olivier Giroud (FRA / Chelsea)

6 Youssef En-Nesyri (MAR / Seville)

6 Mohamed Salah (EGY / Liverpool)

6 Karim Benzema (FRA / Real Madrid)

– Top scorers under the name of Champions League:

2020/21: Erling Haaland (B. Dortmund) 10

2019/20: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern) 15

2018/19: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 12

2017/18: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 15 2

16/17: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 12

2015/16: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 16

2014/15: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Neymar (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 10

2013/14: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 17

2012/13: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 12

2011/12: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 14

2010/11: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 12

2009/10: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 8

2008/09: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 9

2007/08: Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester Utd) 8

2006/07: Kaká (Milan) 10

2005/06: Andriy Shevchenko (Milan) 9

2004/05: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester Utd) 8

2003/04: Fernando Morientes (Monaco) 9

2002/03: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 12

2001/02: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 10

2000/01: Raúl González (Real Madrid) 7

1999/00: Mário Jardel (Porto), Rivaldo (Barcelona), Raúl González (Real Madrid) 10

1998/99: Andriy Shevchenko (Dynamo Kiev), Dwight Yorke (Manchester United) 8

1997/98: Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus) 10

1996/97: Milinko Pantić (Atlético Madrid) 5

1995/96: Jari Litmanen (Ajax) 9

1994/95: George Weah (Paris Saint-Germain) 7

1993/94: Hristo Stoichkov (Barcelona) 5

1992/93: Franck Sauzée (Marseille) 5

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win