South Africa confirmed their roster to face the British & Irish Lions

South Africa confirmed their roster to face the British & Irish Lions

South Africa announced the squad it will face the july window with Georgia and then it will be measured against British & Irish Lions. It will be the first presentation of the Springboks since they lifted the World Cup in Japan on November 2, 2019. In the list of 46 summoned, there are 29 champions who were consecrated in the World Cup and eight players who never played with the team’s jersey .

The Springboks will face Georgia on Friday, July 2 and 9, before disputing the tour before the British & Irish Lions. in three meetings: July 24 and 31, and August 7. South Africa’s “A” team will also face the Europeans on Wednesday 14 July. Frans Steyn and Morné Steyn are among those called up and they will have an opportunity reserved for very few: face the British & Irish Lions for the second time.

Aside from Morne Steyn, who scored the penalty that ensured the series victory in 2009, and Frans Steyn, who were key members of the Springbok team during the 2009 campaign, he will also have another extravaganza this year. Duane Vermeulen was a member of the team Emerging Springbok that season and faced the Lions.

All 2019 Rugby World Cup Winning Team, except for the retired trio of Tendai Mtawarira, Francois Louw and Schalk Brits, and the injured Warrick Gelant, were called up by Springboks coach Jacques Nienaber.

The eight players awaiting their debut They are; Joseph Dweba (hooker), Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg (second row), Jasper Wiese (wing), Sanele Nohamba (scrum half), Wandisile Simelane (center), Yaw Penxe (wing), Rosko Specman (wing) and Aphelele Fassi. (fullback).

At the same time, seven players in the team have 50 or more international matches, with Eben Etzebeth leading the group with 85 tests, while Morne Steyn, who last appeared in green and gold in 2016, tops a list of 10 players who return to wear the team’s jersey.

The team will start training on Monday in Bloemfontein. Players playing domestically will meet on Sunday, and players playing abroad will unite in groups according to their commitments to the club.

The full roster of the Springboks:

Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks, 12 caps, 0 pts)

Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers, 47 caps, 5 pts)

Vincent Koch (Saracens, 21 caps, 0 pts)

Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers, 38 caps, 5 pts)

Ox Nché (Cell C Sharks, 1 cap, 0 pts)

Trevor Nyakane (Vodacom Bulls, 42 caps, 5 pts)

Coenie Oosthuizen (Sale Sharks, 30 caps, 20 pts)

Joseph Dweba (Bordeaux-Bègles, uncapped)

Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears, 33 caps, 25 pts)

Bongi Mbonambi (DHL Stormers, 36 caps, 35 pts)

Scarra Ntubeni (DHL Stormers, 1 cap, 0 pts)

Jager’s Lood (Sale Sharks, 45 caps, 25 pts)

Eben Etzebeth (Toulon, 85 caps, 15 pts)

Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg (Montpellier, uncapped)

Franco Mostert (Honda Heat, 39 caps, 5 pts)

Marvin Orie (DHL Stormers, 3 caps, 0 pts)

RG Snyman (Munster, 23 caps, 5 pts)

Dan du Preez (Sale Sharks, 4 caps, 0 pts)

Pieter-Steph du Toit (DHL Stormers, 55 caps, 25 pts)

Siya Kolisi (Cell C Sharks, 50 caps, 30 pts)

Kwagga Smith (Yamaha Jubilee, 6 caps, 0 pts)

Marco van Staden (Vodacom Bulls, 3 caps, 0 pts)

Duane Vermeulen (Vodacom Bulls, 54 caps, 15 pts)

Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)

Jean-Luc du Preez (Sale Sharks, 13 caps, 10 pts)

Rynhardt Elstadt (Toulouse, 2 caps, 0 pts)

Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks, 30 caps, 20 pts)

Herschel Jantjies (DHL Stormers, 10 caps, 20 pts)

Sanele Nohamba (Cell C Sharks, uncapped)

Cobus Reinach (Montpellier, 14 caps, 30 pts)

Elton Jantjies (Pau, 37 caps, 281 pts) Handré Pollard (Montpellier, 48 caps 457 pts)

Morné Steyn (Vodacom Bulls, 66 caps, 736 pts)

Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks, 15 caps, 15 pts)

Damian de Allende (Munster, 47 caps, 30 pts)

Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles, 46 caps, 60 pts)

Wandisile Simelane (Emirates Lions, uncapped)

Frans Steyn (Toyota Cheetahs, 67 caps, 141 pts)

Aphelele Fassi (Cell C Sharks, uncapped)

Cheslin Kolbe (Toulouse, 14 caps, 40 pts)

Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz, 61 caps, 60 pts) Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks, 14 caps, 70 pts)

Sbu Nkosi (Cell C Sharks, 11 caps, 40 pts)

Yaw Penxe (Cell C Sharks, uncapped)

Rosko Specman (Toyota Cheetahs, uncapped)

Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers, 6 caps, 5 pts)

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win