Argentina has a rich history in the Copa América but too long a drought

Argentina has a rich history in the Copa América but too long a drought

The history of the Argentine National Team in the Copa América is very rich for the titles, but also for the great players who visited the blue and white in the oldest national team tournament in the world. Its prominence is absolute from the first edition and its 14 titles are not enough to describe it.

The Argentines were the first to organize the contest, in Buenos Aires in 1916. They received Uruguay, Brazil and Chile and played the final against the Charruas, in two chapters that remained in history, since the Sunday in which it was scheduled could not be disputed due to the huge crowd that filled the modest Gymnastics and Fencing stadium and was defined on Monday, when the visitor won the title.

The following year he was runner-up again and in Brazil 1919 he was third. After another runner-up in Chile 1920, He won his first crown in 1921, as a local. With three victories in three games, the team that had its goalscorer in Julio Libonatti made the Olympic turn.

Then between 1925 and 1929 he won three more titles. Some of the first heroes of Argentine football shone in those feats. Manuel Ferreira, Roberto Cherro, Carlos Peucelle and Manuel Seoane among them. Later, the majority of the squad played the first World Cup and was runner-up against continental rival Uruguay.

Between 1937 and 1947 it was the true golden era of the Argentine National Team, which by World War II could not crown with a world title. In that period he won five South American tournaments, hand in hand with true stars of the time, such as Alberto Zozaya, Francisco Varallo, Vicente de la Mata and Bernabé Ferreyra in the late thirties and Tucho Méndez (historical top scorer of the tournament), Rinaldo Martino , Mario Boyé, José Manuel Moreno, René Pontoni and Alfredo Di Stéfano himself in the forties.

In the fifties he won another three Cups, with the one remembered from 1957 as the most outstanding. In Lima, “los Carasucias” shone, a squad full of youths that thrashed Brazil that was preparing to be world champion the following year. Humberto Maschio, Antonio Angelillo and Omar Sívori were its figures.

Then came a long continental drought in which he did win his two world titles and regained the crown in 1991 and 1993, the last celebrations of Argentine soccer. Without Diego Maradona but with Gabriel Batistuta, Oscar Ruggeri, Diego Simeone and Fernando Redondo, the Albiceleste was two-time champion in Chile and Ecuador.


1916 Runner-up
1917 Runner-up
1919 Third
1920 Runner-up
1921 Champion
1922 Bedroom
1923 Runner-up
1924 Runner-up
1925 Champion
1926 Runner-up
1927 Champion
1929 Champion
1935 Runner-up
1937 Champion
1939 I do not participate
1941 Champion
1942 Runner-up
1946 Champion
1947 Champion
1949 I do not participate
1953 I do not participate
1955 Champion
1956 Third
1957 Champion
1959 Champion
1959 Runner-up
1963 Third
1967 Runner-up
1975 Fifth
1979 Eighth
1983 Sixth
1987 Bedroom
1989 Third
1991 Champion
1993 Champion
nineteen ninety five Eliminated in Quarters
1997 Eliminated in Quarters
1999 Eliminated in Quarters
2001 I do not participate
2004 Runner-up
2007 Runner-up
2011 Eliminated in Quarters
2015. Runner-up
2016 Runner-up
2019 Third

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win