Wimbledon, the Grand Slam that only saw one of the big four winners

Wimbledon, the Grand Slam that only saw one of the big four winners

It was always a special tournament and for various reasons. Wimbledon, the most traditional of the Grand Slam, with its lawn and its particular stamp, looms and it is the only Major to have been won, since 2003, by just four singles players. Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray are chosen, precisely, the best who are still active today on the professional circuit.

For this reason, only the select lot known as ‘Big 4’ had the luxury of being champion in The Cathedral, in London. Likewise, the scrolls of Federer, Djokovic and Nadal are already clearly superior to Murray and the vast majority of fans already only refer to the ‘Big 3’.

Of them, it is already known that Nadal will not act, who on Thursday announced his absence at Wimbledon and the Tokyo Olympics thinking about his physique and being able to have an extensive career. Meanwhile, Murray, the first British Wimbledon champion in 77 years, in his first London success in 2013, received a special invitation from the organizers.

Therefore, the last 17 editions of Wimbledon had an owner who did not leave them four, something not seen in other Grand Slam, where there were more different champions. Keep in mind that in 2020 the London tournament was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Federer was the first of the four to shout champion there, in 2003, which was precisely the first Grand Slam he achieved in his great career, where he already has 20. He is followed in the list by Djokovic, current No. 1 in the world, with five cups, and the last one was the previous edition, in 2019, when he just saved two match points in the dramatic fifth set of the very final against the Swiss.

The last 17 Wimbledon and their individual champions:
2003 Roger Federer
2004 Roger Federer
2005 Roger Federer
2006 Roger Federer
2007 Roger Federer
2008 Rafael Nadal
2009 Roger Federer
2010 Rafael Nadal
2011 Novak Djokovic
2012 Roger Federer
2013 Andy Murray
2014 Novak Djokovic
2015 Novak Djokovic
2016 Andy Murray
2017 Roger Federer
2018 Novak Djokovic
2019 Novak Djokovic

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win