The Springboks, with three debutants against Georgia

The Springboks, with three debutants against Georgia

The wait is over for the selected world champion who this Friday will have action again for the first time since 2019 when he lifted the most coveted trophy in Japan. The Spirngboks are preparing for the series against the British & Irish Lios and in that context they will play a preparation match at home against Georgia and already have a confirmed team with three newcomers: Rosko Specman, Aphelele Fassi and Jasper Wiese.

Cheetahs’ speedy back, who excelled with the Sevens team and has a bronze medal at the Olympics and numerous Blitzbok successes, will start as right wing, while Fassi, who has been in good shape for the Sharks, he has been named as a left wing.

For his part, Wiese, a former Cheetahs star who now plays for the Leicester Tigers, was inducted into the bench and could have his first test should he step onto the court.

The coach of the Springboks, Jacques Nienaber, who will lead the Springboks in their first test as head coach, named 18 Rugby World Cup winners to his team for this first meeting.

Six of these 12 players will start against Georgia. They are the captain, Siya Kolisi, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Bongi Mbonambi, Willie le Roux and Handré Pollard.

The other players who participated in the grand finale of the international tournament are Frans Steyn (center), Franco Mostert (second row), Malcolm Marx (hooker), Steven Kitshoff, Frans Malherbe (both mainstays) and Herschel Jantjies (scrum half).

“We have selected the best team with an eye on what we would like to achieve in this event against Georgia and we think we have a good balance with several seasoned activists and some young players who have made a strong statement this season. ”Nienaber said.

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Rosko Specman, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Aphelele Fassi, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Kwagga Smith, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ox Nché

Alternates: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Marvin Orie, 20 Jasper Wiese, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Damian Willemse

Place: Loftus Versfeld
Referee: Mike Adamson (SRU)
Assistant referees: Wayne Barnes (RFU), Marius van der Westhuizen (SARU)
TMO: Marius Jonker (SARU)

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win