All Blacks-Wallabies: schedule and how to watch the first match for the Bledisloe Cup

All Blacks-Wallabies: schedule and how to watch the first match for the Bledisloe Cup

In the run-up to what will be the Rugby Championship and after what was the July window, New Zealand and Australia meet this Saturday at Eden Park in Auckland for the first match of the Bledisloe Cup.

How to watch the game?

The meeting will be from 3.50 and you will see it live on ESPN in Argentina, Uruguay or Paraguay. For its part, ESPN 3 screen will have all the action from 1.50 in Colombia, Ecuador and Peru and from the 2.50 from Chile, Bolivia or Venezuela

The preview of the match

The Australians will seek to break a 19-year streak without being able to lift the traditional trophy that both countries dispute every year and that this season will feature three games: two at Eden Park in Auckland and the last in Perth, Australia.

For almost 100 years, Eden Park has been a true fortress for the All Blacks. In 88 games since 1921 (first loss by a tight 9-5 was to South Africa), the All Blacks have lost only ten times. In addition, the kiwi team has not lost to their Australian counterpart since the 1986 Bledisloe Cup (22-9).

History shows that both teams met 170 times with 117 wins for those in black, 45 yellows and 8 draws. The game will have an extra spice, as Aaron Smith, the 32-year-old local scrum half, will complete 100 games in the All Blacks jersey. It will be the first 9 in the history of rugby in his country that reaches a hundred presentations.


All Blacks: 1. George Bower, 2. Codie Taylor, 3. Nepo Laulala; 4. Brodie Retallick, 5. Samuel Whitelock (cap); 6. Akira Ioane, 7. Dalton Papalii, 8. Ardie Savea; 9. Aaron Smith, 10. Richie Mo’unga; 11. Rieko Ioane, 12. David Havili, 13. Anton Lienert-Brown, 14. Sevu Reece; 15. Damian McKenzie.

Substitutes: 16. Dane Coles, 17. Karl Tu’inukuafe, 18. Angus Ta’avao, 19. Scott Barrett, 20. Luke Jacobson, 21. Brad Weber, 22. Beauden Barrett and 23. Jordie Barrett.

Australia: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Jordan Petaia, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Hunter Paisami, 11 Andrew Kellaway, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 James Slipper

Alternates: 16 Jordan Uelese, 17 Angus Bell, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Matt Philip, 20 Fraser McReight, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Matt To’omua, 23 Reece Hodge.

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win