Messi was left out of the candidates for best forward of the Champions 2020-21

Messi was left out of the candidates for best forward of the Champions 2020-21

(EFE) – UEFA announced this Friday the list of final shortlisted candidates for the ‘best player by demarcation’ awards (goalkeeper, defender, midfielder and forward) of the 2020-21 Champions League, where there are five players from the champion Chelsea, including César Azpilicueta as the only Spaniard, where the Belgian Madridista Thibaut Courtois is as the only player in LaLiga, and in which Neither the Argentine Lionel Messi nor the Brazilian Neymar, both now at PSG, nor the Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo appear.

The ‘best player by demarcation’ awards will be awarded in Istanbul (Turkey) on August 26 during the draw for the group stage of this competition for this season, and Erling Haaland ( Dortmund), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern), Kylian Mbappé (PSG).

Messi was left out of the fight for ‘best forward’ when he was in fourth position, Benzema (Real Madrid) was fifth and Neymar sixth.

The jury in charge of choosing the finalists is made up of the coaches of the 32 clubs participating in the first round of the last Champions League, together with 55 journalists from each of the member associations of this confederation, which were selected by the European Sports Media (ESM). Each jury issued a list of three players for each category, assigning respectively five, three and one point to each of them.

Chelsea, champion, is the team that contributed the most names to this list with five, followed by runner-up, Manchester City, with three. The remaining finalists were divided between Paris Saint-Germain, Real Madrid, Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund, each with one element.

The list of the three finalist players, who received the most votes, in each district, are as follows:

GOALS: Thibaut Courtois (Belgium / Real Madrid CF), Ederson (Brazil / Manchester City FC), Edouard Mendy (Senegal / Chelsea FC).

DEFENDERS: César Azpilicueta (Spain / Chelsea FC), Rúben Dias (Portugal / Manchester City FC), Antonio Rüdiger (Germany / Chelsea FC).

MIDFIELDERS: Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City FC), Jorginho (Italy / Chelsea FC), N’Golo Kanté (France / Chelsea FC).

FORWARDS: Erling Haaland (Norway / Borussia Dortmund), Kylian Mbappé (France / Paris Saint-Germain), Robert Lewandowksi (Poland / FC Bayern München).

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win