US Open: The 18-Year Curse Without a Men’s American Champion

US Open: The 18-Year Curse Without a Men's American Champion

September 7, 2003. Andy Roddick, fourth seed of the US Open of that year and one of the twenty Americans who competed in the main draw of the contest, he was the one who took the last Grand Slam trophy of that season. At 21 years old and among the best in the world, it was foreshadowed that this achievement could be repeated. But it was not like that.

It’s been 18 years since the Nebraska native took home the Big Apple trophy. In the middle, only two other finals with North Americans: André Agassi (2005) and the aforementioned Roddick (2006). And the foreign “intruders” That drowned the hopes of American tennis were: Roger Federer (five times), Rafal Nadal (four times), Novak Djokovic (three times) and only once Juan Martín Del Potro, Marin Cilic, Dominic Thiem, Andy Murray and Stan Wawrinka.

In that period, the United States has had high-level tennis players who made the Top 10 and were successful on the circuit as James Blake, Taylor Dent, Mardy Fish or Robby Ginepri just to name a few examples. But the curse seemed to be cast.

In a period of almost two decades, in addition to the aforementioned finals of 2005 and 2006 with Agassi and Roddick as protagonists, only Sam Querrey and John Isner could stand out. The first was quarter-finalist in 2017 (lost to Kevin Anderson) and the second reached the same round and had the same result in view of Juan Martin del Potro.

In this 2021 there will be almost two dozen Americans those who seek to return to that country a winner of US Open. The great present of John Isner (22nd), Reilly Opelka (25th) and young promises like Sebastian Korda (45th), Brandon Nakashima (83rd) and Jenson Brooksby (99th) invite you to dream.

In any case, this major He is not the only one who suffers from the loss of champions of his land. In Australia, the last was Mark Edmondson in 1976, at Roland Garros Yannick Noah in 1983 and at Wimbledon Andy Murray in 2016 but he was the only Briton to win it in a span of 85 years.

On the other hand, in the female branch of the US Open this bad streak does not occur. There, in the last 20 years, Venus Williams, Serena Williams and Sloane Stephens have won. in addition to having Madison Keys as a finalist on one occasion.

Will the US Open 2021 be the one that marks the break of the North American slump at Flushing Meadows?

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win