Finally, Cooperstown opens the doors to Derek Jeter and Larry Walker

Finally, Cooperstown opens the doors to Derek Jeter and Larry Walker

Almost 20 months and 600 days after being elected, Derek Jeter and Larry Walker, and with them the rest of the members of the last two promotions, will enter the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York.

Wednesday’s ceremony at Clark Sports Complex (1:30 pm, MLB Network) will also include former catcher Ted Simmons, Major League Baseball Players Association (MLBPA) first CEO Marvin Miller; the winners of the Ford C. Frick award for broadcast excellence (Al Michaels, 2021; Ken Harrelson, 2020), the winners of the BBWAA award for great careers as reporters / writers (Dick Kaegel, 2021; Nick Cafardo, 2020) and the winner Buck O’Neil Award 2020 (David Montgomery).

Jeter and Walker were chosen by the BBWAA and Simmons and Miller by the Hall of Fame Committees of Eras, but the coronavirus pandemic caused the cancellation of the 2020 ceremonial. Neither the BBWAA nor the Eras Committees elected new immortals of baseball this anus.

Since the Hall of Fame was founded in 1936 (the first ceremony took place three years later), the writers also did not elect a new immortal in the 1945, 1946, 1950, 1958, 1960, 1971, 1996 and 2013 trials. Interestingly, the last time the players were shut out by journalists, Bonds, Clemens, Schilling and Sosa debuted on the ballot.

Cooperstown did not have induction ceremonies in 1950, 1958 and 1960 after the vote did not result in new electives, while no elections were held in 1940, 1941 and 1943. In 1942, Rogers Hornsby was elected but there was no ceremony due to the travel restrictions in the American Union by World War II.

Jeter, one of the most popular and successful players for the New York Yankees, the most winning franchise in professional sports in the United States, and current member of the Miami Marlins board of owners, is the central figure in the activity.

During a 20-season career, Jeter was called up to the All-Star Game 14 times, was part of five Yankees teams that won the World Series and received five Gold Gloves and five Silver Bat.

The “Adored Captain” retired in 2014 with 3,465 hits, the record for the Yankees and the sixth-most in Major League history. He also owns New York marks in games (2,747), at-bats (11,195), doubles (544), stolen bases (358) and hits received (170).

During his career, the Yankees only failed to reach the postseason four times (1995, 2008, 2013 and 2014). Jeter hit .308 with 20 home runs, 18 steals, 111 runs scored and 61 RBIs in 158 playoff games. He hit .321 in 156 at-bats in seven trips to the World Series.

The winner of the 1996 American League Rookie of the Year and the 2000 World Series and All-Star Game MVPs had his No. 2 retired by the Yankees in May 2017.

While Jeter was elected almost unanimously (he received 396 of 397 votes) on his first appearance on the ballot, Walker was approved by the writers on his 10th and final chance.

One of the most complete players of his generation, the Canadian did it all for 17 years in the major leagues with the Montreal Expos, the Colorado Rockies and the St. Louis Cardinals. The outfielder hit .313 with an OBP of .400 and Slugging of .965, hit 383 home runs and ripped off 230 bases in nearly 2,000 games.

Walker won the National League Most Valuable Player award in 1997 and collected seven Gold Gloves, three Silver Bats and three batting titles and was called up to five All-Star Games. At 72.6 WAR, he outscored several fellow Hall of Famers outfielders, including Tony Gwynn, Duke Snider, Dave Winfield, Willie Stargell and Kirby Puckett.

Walker, who joined pitcher Fergunson Jenkins as the only Canadians with plaques in the Hall of Fame Museum, will have his number 33 retired by the Rockies during a ceremony Sept. 25.

Simmons, who spent 13 of his 21 seasons with the St. Louis Cardinals, was one of the best most offensive receivers of his generation between 1968 and 1988. He hit .285 with 2,472 hits (483 doubles and 248 home runs) and 1,389 RBIs. . Among Cooperstown receivers, only Yogi Berra had more RBIs, and Puerto Rican Iván Rodríguez is the only one to beat him on hits.

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win