Uruguay and the United States meet in the first leg for France 2023, this Saturday live from 20.53 on Star +

Uruguay and the United States meet in the first leg for France 2023, this Saturday live from 20.53 on Star +

Uruguay will visit this Saturday USA at Infinity Park in Glendale, Colorado, starting at 8:53 p.m. live on Star+. Both teams will meet in the first leg for a place at the 2023 World Cup that will take place in France. The rematch will be on Saturday, October 9 at the Charrúa Stadium in Montevideo.

The team that finishes with the greatest difference in points in the aggregate of both games will advance to Rugby World Cup 2023 as Americas 1 alongside New Zealand, France, Italy and the 2022 Africa Cup winner.

Both teams have already confirmed their teams and among the Teros the presence of Santiago Arata, the scrum half who plays for French Castres. For their part, the Eagles will not be able to count on one of their figures, Alan McGinty, who serves as the starter for Sale Sharks and misses the momentous match due to an injury that occurred with his team against London Irish.

The record says that they met 17 times with 14 wins for the Americans and three for the Uruguayans. The biggest win was in 2018 with a bulky 61-13 in favor of the Eagles, while the last match between the two went to Los Teros by 35-25 as a visitor.

The play-off loser of Americas 1 will have a new chance to go to France, since will face the winner of the series, home and away, between Canada and Chile, for the award of being Americas 2 in Group D together with England, Japan, Argentina and Samoa.


USA.: 1- David Ainu´u, 2- Kapeli Pifeleti, 3- Joe Taufete´e; 4- Nate Brakeley, 5- Nick Civetta; 6- Hanco Germishuys, 7- Andrew Guerra, 8- Cam Dolan; 9- Ruben De Haas, 10- Will Magie; 11- Mika Kruse, 12- Bryce Campbell (c), 13- Taveti Lopeti, 14- Christian Dyer; 15- Marcel Brache.

Substitutes: 16- Dylan Fawsitt, 17- Matt Harmon, 18- Paul Mullen, 19- Greg Peterson, 20- Moni Tonga´uuiha, 21- Nate Ausgspurger, 22- Luke Carty, 23- Will Holey.

URUGUAY: 1- Mateo Sanguinetti, 2- Facundo Gattas, 3- Diego Arbelo; 4- Ignacio Dotti, 5- Manuel Leindekar; 6- Manuel Ardao, 7- Santiago Civetta, 8- Manuel Diana; 9- Santiago Arata, 10- Felipe Berchesi; 11- Gastón Mieres, 12- Nicolás Freitas, 13- Andrés Vilaseca (C), 14- Rodrigo Silva; 15- Felipe Etcheverry.

Substitutes: 16- Guillermo Pujadas, 17- Juan Echeverría, 18- Matías Benitez, 19- Diego Magno, 20- Eric Dosantos, 21- Tomás Inciarte, 22- Federico Favaro and 23- Felipe Arcos Pérez.

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win