World Rugby confirmed schedule for Sevens Series 2022

World Rugby confirmed schedule for Sevens Series 2022

World Rugby confirmed their schedule for the highly anticipated season of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2022 looking to capitalize on the highly successful impact of the Tokyo Olympics.

The 2022 Series will have ten men’s and seven women’s tournaments in six months, starting with a couple of combined men’s and women’s tournaments in Dubai. The Emirates Dubai Sevens will have a first tournament behind closed doors on November 26 and 27, followed by one with an audience at The Sevens Stadium on December 3-4.

The circuit will return to Europe, where Spain will host for the first time with combined events in Malaga and Seville from January 21-23 and January 28-30, 2022, respectively. The new headquarters in Spain temporarily replace Sydney, Australia, and Hamilton, New Zealand, that will not be able to host due to the logistical challenges associated with the COVID-19 pandemic in their region.

The Men’s Series will continue with the North American stages in Vancouver on February 26 and 27 and Los Angeles on March 5 and 6 before moving to Asia where Hong Kong returns to host a combined event from April 1-3, followed by the event. male in Singapore on April 9-10. A women’s tournament will be held in Langford, Canada, on April 30 and May 1, before the men and women meet at a new circuit venue in Toulouse, France, from May 20-22, where will crown the women’s team champion of the Series. The men’s season will end with a final tournament in London on May 28 and 29.

There will also be changes in the participating teams. Japan joins the circuit as a fixed team after being promoted to the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series champion in 2020.

Great Britain will compete in the first two legs of the Series in Dubai, as part of an existing agreement to play the 2021 calendar year as well, and then return to compete as national unions for the remainder of 2022, with England, Scotland and Wales participating in the men’s circuit and England in the women’s.

The 16 fixed teams after the Dubai events are Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, the United States and Wales.

South Africa will start the 2022 Series as the defending champion after taking the 2021 title in Edmonton, Canada, in September, while New Zealand, which was unable to compete in Canada, was the 2020 Series champion.

The eleven fixed women’s teams after the Dubai tournaments will be Australia, Brazil, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain and the United States. The New Zealand Black Ferns will look to repeat their title after winning the 2020 Series.

As Great Britain will compete in the first two stages, a scoring system will be developed that fairly recognizes all competing teams, including those that make up Great Britain. It will also take into account those teams that cannot participate in a round due to COVID-19.

Commonwealth Games and Rugby World Cup Sevens

Rugby sevens players and supporters can now think about what a busy and exciting season will be in 2022 with the circuit followed by the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham on July 29-31, followed by Rugby World Cup Sevens in Cape Town on July 9. to September 11.

Today’s announcement follows rugby’s very successful second appearance at the Tokyo Olympics, where the men from Fiji and the women from New Zealand were on top of the podium before a huge global audience.

Many new supporters are expected to join the 2022 Series after World Rugby social media with Olympic content made a huge impact, with 22 million video views, achieving 102 million impressions and 3.4 million engagement with. the public in our 2,400 posts on the five World Rugby platforms.

The Olympics were followed by two back-to-back HSBC Canada Sevens tournaments in Vancouver and Edmonton in September, which gave the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2021 title to South Africa, with Great Britain winning both women’s Fast Four tournaments.

World Rugby CEO Alan Gilpin said: “Following an outstanding, competitive and high-impact Olympic Games, it is fantastic to be able to announce the full schedule for the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2022 today.”

“Alongside the popular and traditional venues of rugby sevens, it will be exciting to bring the Series to new venues in Spain and France, as the sport continues to grow and captivate new audiences around the world with its speedy format, skill and passion. Sevens continues to be a key driver for the growth of our sport, particularly in emerging nations, and remains firmly a priority of our organization. ”

“A lot of work has been done behind the scenes to announce a full schedule for the Series and we want to thank HSBC, the organizers, unions, business and television partners for their steadfast support and collaborative spirit as we navigate together the difficult challenges of the US pandemic. COVID-19. “

“We now have the return of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series and what promises to be an exciting year for the sevens, with the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham and the Rugby World Cup Sevens in Cape Town at the conclusion of the Series.”

“As always, the health and well-being of the players, supporters and the wider society remains our primary concern and we will work closely with stakeholders for the safe delivery of the series.”

Source: World Rugby

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win