What is a linear boxing champion?

Qué es un campeón lineal de boxeo

In the boxing world there are many concepts so specific to understand that only true fans know. For instance,what is a linear boxing champion? It is a term that has been in existence for many years and was created by the fans themselves.

Surely you have heard it on boxing broadcasts or some sports programs, but don’t worry, here we explain the term and incidentally tell you who have been the best in history.

What is a linear boxing champion?

It is also defined as “the man who beat the man”, it is awarded to the boxer who is considered the best in the entire category, this regardless of which organization endorsed is champion, but is considered the best.

Photo: Tyson Fury (Twitter)

The concept emerged at the end of the 19th century, fans developed it after protesting the trend that each body had its champion by category: World Boxing Council (WBC), World Boxing Association (AMB), World Boxing Organization (OMB) and the International Boxing Federation (FIB).

The organizations stripped the title of boxers who refused to fight their mandatory challenger and that’s why the new concept emerged. Now, the linear champion is the best in the category regardless of the organization.

For instance, Tyson fury beat the linear champion, Wladimir Klitschko, in November 2015. By defeating him, he took the belts of the FIB, the AMB (Super) and the OMB. Some time later Fury gave up the titles due to personal problems, but he did not lose them in the ring, which is why he continued to be considered the linear champion.

Most remembered linear champions:

  • Joe frizer (Heavyweight)
  • Muhammad Ali (Heavyweight)
  • Mike tyson (Heavyweight)
  • Saúl ‘Canelo’ Álvarez (medium weight)
  • Floyd Mayweather Jr (super welterweight, welterweight, lightweight and super featherweight)
  • Julio Cesar Chavez (super light and light)
  • Manny pacquiao (super light)

Be careful, a boxer only ceases to be the linear champion if he is defeated in the ring, if he renounces his titles, he is still considered a linear champion.

Although there are some boxers who call themselves linear champions because of what they have done in their career, although they are recognized as the best.


Continue with the box information at our YouTube channel.

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win