Despite defeat, Atlanta delivered at Minute Maid Park

Despite defeat, Atlanta delivered at Minute Maid Park

HOUSTON – The Houston Astros defeated the Atlanta Braves 7-2 in Game 2 of the Major League Baseball World Series on Wednesday. But still, the Braves fulfilled their second big assignment at Minute Maid Park, which was to go home 1-1.

Houston rocked left-hander Max Fried with seven hits and six runs – five earned – in five innings, while getting a solid showing from Mexican right-hander Jose Urquidy, who struck out seven walkless batters and limited the visitors to two runs in five acts. .

Outfielder Michael Brantley had a double and single after he had three hits in Game 1; Venezuelan second baseman José Altuve woke up from a slump with a home run and double and the last four men in the lineup; RF Kyle Tucker, Cuban 1B Yuli Gurriel, Dominican CF José Siri and Puerto Rican wide receiver Martín Maldonado each hit and scored one run.

Catcher Travis d’Arnaud homered and singled to be the top hitter for the Braves, who were stopped at seven hits.

The Astros, who reached the grand final for the third time in five years, are the favorites to conquer the 117th edition of the Major League Baseball Fall Classic. But the Braves, who haven’t played in the World Series since 1999 and haven’t won it since 1995, leveled the playoff a bit when they won Game 1 Tuesday 6-2.

The World Series will rest on Thursday, then have three consecutive games at Atlanta’s new Truist Park, Friday through Sunday. For Game 3 they are announced to start pitching Venezuelan rookie Luis Garcia, for Houston, and right-hander Ian Anderson, for Atlanta.

The Braves (5-0) are undefeated at home in the 2021 postseason and their pitchers have a 2.40 ERA in 45.0 innings at Truist Park. The Astros are 3-2, but with a 5.65 ERA in 43.0 innings on the road.

Of the previous 60 times the event was tied 1-1 after two games, the winner of Game 2 ended up crowning 31 times (51.7%), but that’s only happened in four of the past 13 times since 1993. : Los Angeles Angels in 2002, the New York Yankees in 2009, the Chicago Cubs in 2016 and Houston in 2017.

The winner of Game 1 (the Atlanta case) won the rest of the occurrences: the 1993 Baltimore Orioles, the 2003 Miami Marlins, the 2006 St. Louis Cardinals, the 2008 Philadelphia Phillies, the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals. 2011, the Boston Red Sox of 2013, the San Francisco Giants of 2014 and the Los Angeles Dodgers of last year, won the first game and lost the second, but ended up lifting the Commissioner’s Trophy.

Winning both games in Houston was Atlanta’s main aspiration, but going 1-1 was the second, and more real, of their missions.

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win