Two World Cup spots at stake in the women’s SAR 7’s

Two World Cup spots at stake in the women's SAR 7's

The two finalists of the SAR 7’s that is going to be played this weekend will qualify for the Rugby World Cup 7’s on South Africa next year.

Ten nations of South America Rugby will participate in a new edition of South American Women’s Rugby Sevens, which will be played within the framework of the traditional “Valentin Martinez Nin” at Carrasco Polo Club from Montevideo. The tournament starts this coming Friday the 11th and ends on Saturday the 12th of November.

With two places in dispute for the next Rugby World Cup Sevens, to be disputed in Cape Town, South Africa, From September 9 to 11, 2022, the SAR 7’s is of greater interest to participants.

“Being able to count on ten teams in this challenging time tells us about the desire they have to compete internationally,” said Barbara Pichot, in charge of Women’s Rugby in South America Rugby and I add: “The two places at RWC 7s are very important, but being able to see the girls play again knowing the effort that each country and each team made to be here is a source of pride for all of South America Rugby. The players who will be in Montevideo are an inspiration for more girls and young people to come to discover rugby. Being able to have the entire tournament live on the App is one more way to encourage the continued growth of rugby in the region. “

How to play

The ten teams will be divided into two zones of five teams each; After facing each other, the two best of each zone will play the semifinals of the Gold Cup.

Those who advance to the final will have secured their place in the great reduced rugby event that only Brazil has attended in 2009 (Dubai), 2013 (Moscow) and 2018 (San Francisco), representing South American women’s rugby.

As Yaras from Brazil lead Group A along with Uruguay, Argentina, which this Monday confirmed the team’s new nickname, Las Yaguaretés, Costa Rica and Guatemala, while Paraguay, finalists last year, leads Group B, accompanied by Las Tucanes from Colombia, Chile, Peru and Panama.

The match that will open the tournament will begin at 9 am on Friday the 11th when Uruguay and Argentina meet. The group stage will be completed on Saturday morning, again starting at 9am.

The semi-finals, which will define the teams that qualify for Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022, will begin at 12:57 and 13:19, with the final scheduled to begin at 15:43.

Source: South America Rugby

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win