Marcos Moneta, among those chosen for the World Rugby Awards 2021

Marcos Moneta, among those chosen for the World Rugby Awards 2021

World Rugby announced the players nominated for the World Rugby Awards 2021 and among them there is an Argentine presence. Marcos Moneta was shortlisted by the panel as one of the top four for the award to Rugby 7’s Player of the Year after his big 2021 with Pumas 7’s. The only antecedent in this modality is Lucio López Fleming (2004). The election is in charge of the public and will run until Sunday, November 21.

“The nominees combine the cunning and experience of New Zealand co-captain and talisman Scott Curry, with the fresh young exuberance of Argentine Marcos Moneta, with six, the tryman in Tokyo. Fiji maintains its record of having at least one player between the nominees, since 2013, with two gold medalists in Napolioni Bolaca and Jiuta Wainiqolo, the latter marking his international debut at Tokyo 2020 supporting the first Tokyo 2020 try “, they communicated from World Rugby after announcing the chosen ones.

In the rest of the categories, which also include XV and Sevens Player, Best Try of the Year for men and women, the competition for the award of XV player of the year with the nominations of Antoine Dupont (France), Michael Hooper (Australia), Maro Itoje (England / British & Irish Lions) and Samu Kerevi (Australia).

Nine countries are represented among the nominees: Argentina, Australia, England, Fiji, France, Italy, New Zealand, South Africa and Wales, with France having the most reps with eight, two more than England and New Zealand. Fiji will also be awarded for their performances in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, with four nominees in the Player and Sevens Player of the Year nominations.

Additionally, the World Rugby Panel, a stellar team of rugby legends, will vote in the remaining six categories: Revelation Player, Coach and Referee of the Year, as well as the new men’s and women’s Dream Teams.


XV Player of the Year: Antoine Dupont (France), Michael Hooper (Australia), Maro Itoje (England / British & Irish Lions) and Samu Kerevi (Australia).

XV Player of the Year: Zoe Aldcroft (England), Caroline Boujard (France), Poppy Cleall (England) and Laure Sansus (France).

Revelation Player: Will Jordan (New Zealand), Andrew Kellaway (Australia), Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales) and Marcus Smith (England).

World Rugby Coach of the Year: Allan Bunting / Cory Sweeney (New Zealand, Women’s Sevens), Ian Foster (New Zealand, Men’s), Simon Middleton (England, Women’s) and Dave Rennie (Australia, Men’s).

Rugby 7’s Player of the Year: Napolioni Bolaca (Fiji), Scott Curry (New Zealand), Marcos Moneta (Argentina) and Jiuta Wainiqolo (Fiji).

Rugby 7’s Player of the Year: Anne-Cécile Ciofani (France), Sarah Hirini (New Zealand), Alowesi Nakoci (Fiji) and Reapi Ulunisau (Fiji).

Try of the Year (Male): Lukhanyo Am (South Africa A, vs. British & Irish Lions, July 14), Pierre-Louis Barassi (France, vs. Australia, July 17), Luke Jacobson (New Zealand, vs. Argentina, September 12 ) and Damian Penaud (France, vs. Scotland, on March 26).

Try of the Year (Female): Sara Barattin (Italy, vs. Scotland, on September 13), Emilie Boulard (France, vs. Wales, on April 3), Abby Dow (England, v. France, on April 30) and Romane Ménager (France, vs. Ireland, April 17).

At the close of the November international window, rugby’s greatest accolades will be presented virtually to their recipients from December 6 to 10. The 12 categories will be announced on World Rugby social media – Instagram, Twitter, Facebook and YouTube.

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win