Qatar started the countdown to the 2022 World Cup

Qatar started the countdown to the 2022 World Cup

Qatar started the countdown to the 2022 World Cup on Sunday and unveiled on the Doha waterfront a clock that marks the countdown, one year after the most important event in global football.

The large hourglass made of Polish steel and in the shape of an hourglass, is located on the seafront next to the Government Palace.

In this act, celebrated in style, various personalities from the football world have gathered such as FIFA President Gianni Infantino, Qatar 2022 Secretary General Hassan Al Zawadi and General Director Nasser Al Khater, former English player David Bechkam, World Cup ambassador, among others.

Qatar 2022 will be the first World Cup, since its inception in 1930, to be held during the European winter months (from November 21 to December 18, 2022) and will have eight avant-garde stadiums for it.

The tournament will kick off at the impressive Al Bayt Stadium, which will be premiered in a few days with the opening match of the 2021 Arab Cup between Qatar and Bahrain on November 30.

That same day, Stadium 974 (Ras Abu Abud) will be inaugurated, and only the last of the eight World Cup venues will remain, the Lusail Stadium, which will open its doors in early 2022.

Three of the eight venues have been designed by the Madrid architectural studio Fenwick Iribarren: the Education City stadium, the Al Thumama stadium and the 974 stadium, which will open on November 30 for the Arab Cup in the opening match between Emirates United Arabs and Syria.

Stadium 974 is the seventh to be unveiled to date after Khalifa International, Al Janoub, Education City, Ahmad Bin Ali, Al Bayt and Al Thumama, which will host World Cup matches next year.

It is expected according to the organizers that 1.2 million fans come to Qatar for the first World Cup to be held in the Middle East in 2022.

So far there are thirteen teams that have ensured their presence in the World Cup: In addition to Qatar, as the organizing country, there will be Germany, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Croatia, Denmark, Spain, France, England, Serbia, Switzerland and the Netherlands .

A compact and sustainable event, according to the organizers, due to the small size of the emirate, in which the longest journey between the eight stadiums will be less than 45 minutes.

To do this, the emirate has developed a state-of-the-art metro network with driverless trains imported from Japan and has promoted the construction of a new road network that effectively connects all parts of the country.

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win