Chile and Uruguay will play the South American Seven in search of qualifying for the World Cup

Chile and Uruguay will play the South American Seven in search of qualifying for the World Cup

Nine teams south americans and central americans will compete in the National Stadium of San José de Costa Rica for the regional title and two places to Rugby World Cup Sevens.

The selected teams from Brazil, Chile, Uruguay, Guatemala, Peru, Panama, El Salvador, Nicaragua and the host Costa Rica will play on Saturday 27 and Sunday 28 November the main seven of South America Rugby at the National Stadium, in San José, the stadium most modern and high-tech in Central America and the Caribbean.

The tournament will begin on Saturday 27 at 9 in the morning (local time) when Guatemala faces Panama and will have twelve games on the first day, completing the group stage and starting the second stage on the same day at 3:40 p.m. hours, concluding the first day at 17 hours.

After this first stage, a ranking will be generated to define the four semifinalists, and eventually the final positions.

The second day will have another twelve games, including the semifinals and the final starting at 4:02 pm (local).

The winners of both semifinals will obtain the two places at stake for RWC 7s, accompanying Los Pumas Sevens from Argentina, already classified.

The final will put into play the scepter of SAR 7s Costa Rica.

Chile (in 2001 and 2018) and Uruguay (2005, 2009, 2013 and 2018) together with Argentina (all editions) are the only teams in the region to participate in the Rugby World Cup Sevens men’s tournament.

“Being able to host an international tournament of this level is very important for rugby in Costa Rica and Central America,” said Ramón Cole de Temple, President of the Costa Rica Rugby Federation.

“It is the first time that in the region there are two places available for Rugby World Cup Sevens, which makes it an aspirational tournament for rugby in both Central and South America.”

“That they have chosen Costa Rica to host this tournament is something that fills not only our country but also our neighbors with pride.”

Thanking South America Rugby, the Ministry of Sports and the Costa Rican institutions, Cole de Temple concluded: “I hope that this tournament can receive as many people as possible so that they can enjoy what will be a high level of play and that our sport can be spread. . “

The week will put Costa Rican rugby at the center of the scene, with three specific trainings in the run-up to the tournament.

Refereeing training will be given by Joaquín Montes, South America Rugby Reference Manager, for Citing Commissioner, by Christian Massa, and a rugby seven training will be given by the experienced Edmundo Olfos, coach of the Chilean team who will seek a World Cup square.

Source: South America Rugby

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win