Andre Johnson and DeMarcus Ware lead 26 semi-finalists to Hall of Fame

Andre Johnson and DeMarcus Ware lead 26 semi-finalists to Hall of Fame

Among the semifinalists, seven players appear in their first year of eligibility to enter the Canton, Ohio campus, including Johnson and Ware.

Seven players in their first year of eligibility, including Andre Johnson and DeMarcus Ware, are among the 26 semifinalists of the modern era to enter the Professional Football Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2022.

The semifinalists, 26 in total by a tie in the voting, will be reduced to 15 finalists next month. The Class of 2022, which can include up to five players from the modern era, will be formally announced on February 10 during the NFL Honors.

Johnson, a seven times selected at Pro bowl and Ware, one nine times selected at Pro bowl, they played their last game in 2016 and were in their first year of eligibility. Among this year’s semi-finalists who are also in their first year of eligibility are Anquan Boldin, Devin Hester, Robert Mathis, Steve Smith and Vince wilfork.

The other semi-finalists are: Eric Allen, Jared Allen, Willie Anderson, Ronde Barber, Tony Boselli, LeRoy Butler, Eddie George, Torry Holt, Sam Mills, Richard Seymour, Steve Tasker, Fred Taylor, Zach Thomas, Hines Ward, Ricky Watters, Reggie Wayne, Patrick Willis , Darren Woodson and Bryant young.

Jared Allen, Barber, Boselli, Butler, Holt, Mills, Seymour, Thomas and Wayne they were finalists last year. Boselli has been a finalist five times, while Seymour he has been a finalist three times.

Young was a finalist in 2020.

Among this year’s semifinalists, Hester and Tasker they’re being considered primarily for their special teams play, but they’re among the eight players listed as wide receivers.

Smith is currently eighth in career receiving yards; Wayne is No. 10, Johnson N ° 11, Boldin N ° 14, Holt N ° 16 and Ward N ° 27.

Ware, who finished his career with three years with the Denver Broncos after nine seasons with the Dallas cowboys, is ranked 13th in lifetime catches, with 138.5. Jared allen, who is a second-time semifinalist, is No. 16 with 136 career sacks.

Dick vermeil, selected by the senior committee, is already a finalist as a coach; Cliff branch is the senior finalist; and Art McNally is a finalist as a contributor. All three were chosen earlier this year.

Presentations to Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, will be held in early August.

Information from AP was used in the writing of this note.

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win