CONMEBOL will dispute its fifth place for the 2022 World Cup with Asia

FIFA raffled this Friday the pairings of the intercontinental qualifiers that will decide the last teams qualified for the Qatar 2022 World Cup, in which the representative of Asia will face CONMEBOL and CONCACAF against Oceania.

The qualifiers will be played as a single match on June 13 and 14, 2022, since, although they were scheduled for March, they were delayed until that date.

In these play-offs, the fourth classified in the CONCACAF final league and the fifth in CONMEBOL will play. Representing Asia (AFC), the winner of the match will be played by the third classified of each group in the third round and for Oceania (OFC) the winner of the qualifying phase.

For the last World Cup in Russia 2018, the teams of Australia and Peru were the ones that achieved the last tickets through these qualifiers after their victories over Honduras and New Zealand, respectively.

For Qatar 2022, in addition to the host team, Brazil, Argentina from CONMEBOL and ten teams from UEFA have already secured places: Germany, Denmark, Belgium, France, Croatia, Spain, Serbia, England, Switzerland and the Netherlands.

In the distribution of the 32 places for the World Cup, in addition to the host country, UEFA will have 13 teams, Africa 5 – there is no play-off-, CONMEBOL 4.5, Asia 4.5. CONCACAF 3.5 and Oceania 0.5.

In Asia, the two third group will play a one-game tie at a neutral venue between March and June and the winner will go to the intercontinental play-off.

In CONMEBOL, with Brazil and Argentina already classified, the fifth at the end of the last day of the qualifying phase on March 29 will be the one that accesses this last play-off, along with the one that finishes fourth in the CONCACAF qualifying phase. on that mass date and the winner of the Oceania qualifying round.

The African Confederation (CAF) will solve its qualifying phase without repechage in March with five round-trip qualifying rounds, the winners of which will win the ticket.

Qatar 2022 will be played from November 21 to December 18, 2022 and the draw will be held next April.