Águilas del Zulia surprises the leader Navegantes de Magallanes in the Venezuelan Professional Baseball League

VALENCIA, Venezuela – José Briceño had an explosive night on the offensive, and the Águilas del Zulia defeated the leader Navegantes del Magallanes 6-2 this Saturday, who lost their second consecutive game after assembling a streak of 11 victories in the League Venezuelan Professional Baseball.

Briceño went 3-2 with a home run and five RBIs, while Andrés Chaparro went 3-2 with a solo homer to lead the Eagles’ attack.

Reliever Arik Sikula (2-1) won with one and two-thirds inning without allowing a touchdown, and Alvin Herrera (0-1) lost, after conceding three touchdowns in one chapter and a third of work.

At Puerto La Cruz, José Martínez hit an RBI single in the top of the ninth inning to break a tie, and Margarita’s Braves defeated the Anzoátegui Caribes 3-2.

Anthony Molina (2-0) retired 1 1/3 inning blank to claim the win, and Lester Oliveros (1-2) lost, after allowing the run of difference in his two-thirds inning relief.

In La Guaira, the Leones del Caracas took advantage of an erratic defense by the Cardenales de Lara to defeat them by a score of 5-3.

Third baseman Carlos Rivero made a run-leading error in the same first inning, and shortstop Juniel Querecuto also committed a sin that allowed another score in the fifth inning. Wilfredo Tovar drove in one run with a single and José Rondón drove in one more with a sacrifice fly, both in the seventh inning, to secure the Lions victory.

In La Guaira, Henry Rodríguez and Denis Phipps hit two-score RBI singles to cap off a five-score attack in the top of the ninth inning as the Tigres de ragua traced a difference and defeated the Tiburones de La 8-7. Guaira.

Leonel Campos (1-0) withdrew a perfect tackle and benefited from the reaction to the offense of his teammates to win the game, and Eudis Idrogo (0-4) lost it, punished with three scores and three hits without being able to get outs in his relief.

With the results of this day, Navegantes del Magallanes lead the circuit with a 19-9 mark followed by Bravos de Margarita (17-11), Tigres de Aragua (16-13), Cardenales de Lara (15-13), Leones del Caracas (14-15), Caribes de Anzoátegui (11-17), La Guaira Sharks (11-18), and Águilas del Zulia (11-18).