Rod Carew, Jaime Jarrín, Fergie Jenkins, Mike Schmidt and Ozzie Smith are on the Cooperstown Hall of Fame committee

COOPERSTOWN, NY – Cooperstown Hall of Famers Rod Carew, Fergie Jenkins, Mike Schmidt and Ozzie Smith are among 16 voters on the Golden Days Era Committee of the Hall of Fame.

Former Commissioner Bud Selig, former Atlanta Braves general manager John Schuerholz, and retired manager Joe Torre, all three also in the Hall, are also among voters scheduled to meet Sunday in Orlando, Florida, to consider candidates. whose primary contributions were from 1950 to ’69.

Current executives Al Avila, Bill DeWitt, Ken Kendrick, Kim Ng and Tony Reagins are also on the panel along with members and media historians Adrian Burgos Jr., Steve Hirdt, Jaime Jarrin and Jack O’Connell.

Gil Hodges, Roger Maris and Minnie Miñoso are among the 10 men on the ballot along with Dick Allen, Ken Boyer, Jim Kaat, Tony Oliva, Billy Pierce and Maury Wills, in addition to former Pittsburgh Pirates manager Danny Murtaugh.

Jenkins, Smith, Torre, Schuerholz, DeWitt, Kendrick and Reagins are also among the 16 voters for the Early Era of Baseball Committee along with Hall of Famer Bert Blyleven. Media members / historians include Hirdt and Burgos, plus Gary Ashwill, Leslie Heaphy, Jim Henneman, Justice Hill, Rick Hummel, and John Thorn.

Pre-1950 candidates in the early era voting include seven Negro League players: John Donaldson, Bud Fowler, Vic Harris, Grant “Home Run” Johnson, Buck O’Neil, Dick “Cannonball” Redding, and George Scales. .

They are joined by Bill Dahlen, Lefty O’Doul and Allie Reynolds.

To win the election to either committee, a candidate must appear on at least 75% of the ballots.

Anyone chosen will be admitted to Cooperstown on July 24 along with players chosen by the Baseball Writers Association of America, whose vote will be announced on January 25. Those eligible for the first BBWAA ballot include David Ortiz, Ryan Howard, Tim Lincecum and Alex Rodríguez.

Steroid-related stars Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens will be on the BBWAA ballot for the last time.