Minoso, Oliva, O'Neil, Hodges, Kaat and Fowler are inducted into the Cooperstown Hall of Fame

Cubans Minnie Miñoso and Tony Oliva were selected Sunday by a pair of veterans committees to enter the Cooperstown Hall of Fame, along with Buck O’Neil, Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat and Bud Fowler.

Oliva and Kaat, both 83, are the only new members alive. Veteran slugger Dick Allen, who died last December, was one vote from the election.

The six newcomers will be enshrined in Cooperstown, New York, on July 24, 2022, along with new members chosen by the Baseball Writers Association of America. First-time candidates David Ortiz and Alex Rodriguez join Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens and Curt Schilling on the ballot, with the results of the vote on January 25.

Bypassed in previous Hall elections, the new members reflect a diversity of accomplishments.

More information shortly.