River Plate vs.  Defense and Justice - Pre-Match - December 5, 2021

River, already established champion of the League Tournament, will be measured this Sunday from 9:30 p.m. against Defense and Justice for the third-to-last date of the contest.

The game will be played at the Monumental, with the arbitration of Patricio Loustau.

River was devoted to three dates from the end after a great campaign. He is undefeated on 18 dates and a solid and forceful game, a trademark of the Doll cycle.

After the elections that were held on Saturday at the club, where the ruling party was clearly imposed with Jorge Brito at the head, the great unknown now is to know what will be the decision of Marcelo Gallardo about his continuity in the institution.

In the Millionaire the presence is expected, for the last time after having announced his retirement, of Leonardo Ponzio as the starter. One of the great references of the Núñez team will say goodbye to his people after having won 16 titles at the club.

In addition, Gallardo will have Julián Alvarez as one of his determining cards, scorer of the team and of the tournament and a key piece in this title.

But the Muñeco team stands out for its parity in all lines, and in addition to the scorer, the team is supported by figures such as Armani, Paulo Díaz, Milton Casco and Agustín Palavecino, another of the important players in the final of this contest.

River has 53 points and Defense, with 41, is third after a great campaign. Sebastián Beccacece’s team comes from 10 games without losing, with eight wins and two draws, and will be a demanding rival, who also wants to secure a ticket to the Copa Sudamericana.

The history indicates that they played six times with two victories for River, two for Defense and two draws.


RIVER PLATE: Franco Armani; Robert Rojas, David Martínez, Paulo Díaz and Milton Casco; Santiago Simón, Enzo Fernández, Leonardo Ponzio and Agustín Palavecino; Julián Alvarez and Braian Romero. DT: Marcelo Gallardo.

DEFENSE AND JUSTICE: Ezequiel Unsain; Nicolás Tripicchio, Adonis Frías, Nazareno Colombo and Marcelo Benítez; Kevin Gutiérrez and Gabriel Hachen; Francisco Pizzini, Walter Bou and Carlos Rotondi; Miguel Merentiel. DT: Sebastián Beccacece.

REFEREE: Patricio Loustau.
HOUR: 21:30.