Davis Cup: Russia, the ninth country with at least three titles

To a special club. With his new success, in the final against Croatia, Russia became the ninth country to reach the three-title mark in the history of the Davis Cup, list that leads the United States.

In the Madrid Finals, the team led by Shamil Tarpischev He lifted the title of the top men’s team tennis tournament for the third time, now for the first time with this new format.

In 2002, Russia inscribed its name in the history of the legendary Davis Cup champions, beating France in the final. And four years later, in 2006, he achieved his second silver salad bowl, after beating Argentina at home.

Now in 2021, led by Daniil Medvedev, world No. 2 and current US Open champion, followed by Andrey Rublev, Russia won their third Davis Cup and for the first time celebrated on neutral ground, in Madrid.

Thus, Russia entered the club of the nine countries that achieved at least three times the traditional team tournament. The record is held by the United States, with 32 conquests, followed by Australia, with 28.

This is the list of the 15 Davis Cup champions and their titles:
32 United States
28 Australia
10 France and Great Britain
7 Sweden
6 Spain
3 Germany, Czech Republic and Russia
2 Croatia
1 Italy, Argentina, Serbia, Switzerland and South Africa