World Rugby Awards 2021: the first winners are here

Andrew Cole (Australia), Damian Penaud (France) and Emilie Boulard (France) have received the award for referee, men’s try of the year and women’s try of the year, respectively, awarded in the World Rugby Awards 2021.

Andrew Cole he refereed 44 Super Rugby games and 31 test-matches between 1997 and 2005. The Australian’s first test was between Samoa and Tonga in 1997 and the last was Ireland vs. Romania eight years later. He also delivered justice in the second test between New Zealand and the British & Irish Lions in 2005. Selected as a referee for the 1999 and 2003 Rugby World Cups, then he was a referee selector between 2012 and RWC 2015. Cole was in charge of the training of referees in Rugby Australia from 2010-17 and is a life member of the Queensland Rugby Referees Association.

Secondly, Damian Penaud was awarded for the best try of the year, a situation that occurred during the match between France and Scotland on March 26. Going from 22 to the others, France generated an unforgettable conquest in the postponed meeting of the Six Nations, at the Stade de France. Playing fast after a kick to the box, fullback Brice Dulin launched into an electrifying run before finding Romain Ntamack and Arthur Vincent in support. Antoine Dupont quickly transferred the ball away from the breakdown and Virimi Vakatawa took the defense before unloading Damian Penaud, whose soccer skills, led him to support a wonderful try in the corner.

Also, the prize for the women’s try of the year was awarded to Emilie bouland thanks to a play he starred in on April 3 during the test between France and Wales. With a 43-0 deficit and less than three minutes to play, Wales managed to clear their lines, but only until near the middle of the field, where Caroline Boujard, who had already scored three tries in the match, immediately found the ball. Jessy Trémoulière with his pass. France then delivered the ball to newcomer Emilie Boulard on the left wing, her pass reaching Maëlle Filopon within the Welsh 22 meters. The center passed inward to Camille Imart who then sent Boulard toward the corner try.

Winners of the prestigious awards in the remaining nine categories will be announced throughout the week (December 6-10).