Marcos Moneta, the first Argentine in history to win the award for the best player of the year

The young back of The Pumas 7s, Marcos Moneta was chosen as the best player of the year in the format Seven at the World Rugby Awards.

The Argentine back beat three other figures of the year, Jiuta Wainiqolo (FIJ), Napolioni Bolaca (FIJ) and Scott Curry (NZL).

In this way, he became the first player to win the highest award as the best player of the year. Lucio López Fleming was ternado in 2004, but could not win it.

Regarding the XV format, there were no Argentines who won the World Rugby Award for best of the year. So the player trained in San Andrés became the first in history.

In 2017, the awarded Argentine player was Joaquín Tuculet who received the award for the best try of the year against England in the June window.