CUBA reached its 15th title and is affirmed on the podium of the biggest winners of the URBA

The victory of CUBA by 10-9 before SIC gave the Villa de Mayo club its 15th competitive title URBA. With this new conquest, the University Club of Buenos Aires remains as comfortable third in the historical table of greatest winners, although it still has a long way to go to the San Isidro clubs, who occupy the first two steps.

After eight years, six without reaching this type of instance and two seasons (2018 and 2019) fighting not to be relegated, CUBA is once again crowned the best rugby team in Buenos Aires. This place had eluded one of the most important teams in the history of these tournaments who, despite having lasting droughts, remains on the podium of those who won the most with 15 coronations, the first of these exactly 90 years ago.

However, CUBA’s position among the winners would only begin to take place in the 40s, 50s and 60s. In those years, the Villa de Mayo team was left with 12 titles (the last of these in 1970). In addition, during those years he had a four-time championship between 1949 and 1952, and a three-time championship between 1968 and 1970.

Ahead are only the teams from San Isidro, who maintain a clear dominance after sharing most of the titles between the ’70 and ’80. It was precisely at that time that CUBA, who was within range of him ALMOST (today with 33), he ranked second on this list. The 50 years of drought made him lose this position to the SIC, which won more than 20 titles in that period and today accumulates 26.

Likewise, that ‘advantage’ that those of Villa de Mayo gave was not enough for Buenos Aires CRC Y Belgrano AthleticURBA’s founding teams and immediate pursuers in this historical table, will be able to reach them. The two clubs are now five apart with ten championships each.