Two South American champions meet their rivals for the 2022 edition

This Monday the draw for the first phases of CONMEBOL Sudamericana 2022. CIn the presence of two champions of the competition, 32 of the teams that will compete in the 2022 edition of the South American Cup met their rivals from the first phase on Monday.

The Ecuadorian University Sports League, winner in 2009, will face Mushuc Runa from his country, while Cienciano, who won the title in 2003, will face Melgar, also from Peru.

In the first phase, in which there will be 16 keys with 32 teams from eight South American countries, the clubs will collide with rivals from their same countries.

The winners of those crosses will advance to the group stage, where the teams of Argentina and Brazil are already waiting.

The first phase of the Sudamericana 2022 will be played between March 8 and 17, while the final will be played on October 1 at the Mané Garrincha stadium, in Brasilia.

Phase 1


Jorge Wilstermann – Guabirá Royal Pari – Oriente Petroleto


Spanish Union – Sports Antofagasta

Deportivo Ñublense – Unión La Calera


Equity – Junior

Independent Medellín – America de Cali


Dolphin – October 9

Mushuc Runa – LDU Quito


National – Guaireña

Sun of America – General Caballero


Ayacucho – Sport Boys

Cienciano – Melgar


Montevideo Wanderers – Cerro Largo

Liverpool – River Plate


Students of Mérida – Metropolitans

Colmenarez Brothers – Deportivo La Guaira

* The teams occupying the right side will close their respective series playing at home.

** The two winning teams of the crosses of each country will qualify for the Group Stage of the Copa Sudamericana.