México cierra el 2021 con su número más bajo de campeones en cinco años

Mexico closed 2021 with seven world champions, the lowest figure in the last five years, with Saúl “Canelo” Álvarez as the main figure of the country and perhaps the world.

From 2017 to 2019 Mexico ended each year with eight world monarchs in the four main boxing organizations: the AMB, the CMB, the FIB and the OMB.

In 2020, the year in which the pandemic affected all activities in the world, including boxing, Mexico was able to close with nine monarchs. However, in the 2021 that is about to end, Mexico closed with two less champions, to finish in seven.

Those seven monarchs are Saúl “Canelo” Álvarez, undisputed super middleweight; Oscar Valdez, super feather CMB; Leo Santa Cruz, featherweight champion AMB; Emanuel “Vaquero” Navarrete, pen OMB; Juan Francisco “Gallo” Estrada, super fly AMB and Franchise CMB; Julio César “Rey” Martínez, fly CMB; Y Esteban Bermúdez, mini fly AMB.

1. Saúl “Canelo” Álvarez

Canelo Alvarez, considered the best pound for pound At the moment, he fought three times and finished before the limit on all of them. They were fights against Avni Yildirim, Billy joe saunders Y Caleb Plant, to finish as the first undisputed champion in history at super middleweight.

TO Yildirim struck him down in three rounds on February 27 in Miami to defend his belt from the AMB and from CMB; on May 8 he liquidated Saunders in eight rounds to conquer that of the OMB in Arlington; and on November 6, the one of the FIB to Plant in Las Vegas, to make history.

2. Oscar Valdez

Oscar Valdez dethroned Miguel Berchelt of the 130-pound scepter of the CMB on February 20 in Las Vegas.

He defended it seven months later in Tucson against Robson Conceicao, triumph with controversy for some.

3. Emanuel “Vaquero” Navarrete

The Navarrete cowboy defended the WBO pen twice, on April 24 with Christopher Diaz in Kissimmee by technical knockout in 12 rounds, and to Joet González on October 15 in San Diego, by unanimous decision.

4. Juan Francisco “Gallo” Estrada

For his part, Gallo Estrada defeated in the long-awaited rematch Román “Chocolatito” González on March 13 to win the super flyweight title AMB and defend the CMB; weeks later, he was declared the Franchise Champion of said organization.

5. Julio César “Rey” Martínez

The King Martinez, meanwhile, made two defenses of the fly sash of the CMB, in view of Joel cordova, on June 26 in Guadalajara by defeating him by technical knockout in six laps. And five months later, with McWilliams Arroyo, a fight that ended in No Contest on November 19 after a cut in the Puerto Rican above the right eye.

6. Esteban Bermúdez

Esteban Bermúdez joined the list of champions this year after defeating on May 28 in Mexico City Carlos Canizales by technical knockout in six turns, and thus win the light fly scepter AMB.

7. Leo Santa Cruz

Leo Santa Cruz It had no activity this year and remains as super featherweight champion of the AMB.

The champions Mexico lost in 2021

one. Luis “Pantera” Nery

Panther nery lost the super bantamweight scepter CMB in his first defense by falling by knockout in seven rounds to Brandon figueroa on May 15 in Carson, California.

2. Miguel “Alacrán” Berchelt

After making six defenses, the Scorpion berchelt lost the world super featherweight title CMB when falling by dramatic knockout before the also Mexican, Oscar Valdez in February 2021.

3. Elwin “Pulga” Soto

He was outclassed by decision divided by Jonathan “Bomba” González to lose in Fresno, California, his light fly scepter of the OMB, of which he had made three defenses.

4. Eduardo “Zurdo” Ramírez

He had won the WBA featherweight interim title to compatriot Isaac Avelar on May 1 in Carson, California, vacating it months later.