Super Rugby Pacific: fixture modification confirmed

The first edition of Super Rugby Pacific scheduled for February 18, finally suffered some changes in its original fixture due to the decision of New Zealand to close the borders since mid-January before the reappearance of Covid-19. Consequently, the first eight dates will be between teams from the same country.

Moana Pasifika and the Blues meet at the Mt Smart Stadium in Auckland on Friday, February 18, 2022, to kick off the Super Rugby Pacific jointly announced by New Zealand Rugby (NZR) and Rugby Australia.

The competition will begin on Australian soil the same night, with Waratahs hosting Fijian Drua, while on Saturday the Chiefs will host Highlanders in Hamilton and Crusaders, now with Pablo Matera on their roster, will welcome Hurricanes in Christchurch.

The new schedule retains the same competition format announced in November, but will start with the six New Zealand-based teams and the six Australia-based teams playing their first eight games in their own territory due to new restrictions resulting from the regrowth of Covid-19.

“We are pleased to be able to confirm the revised Super Rugby Pacific fixture. We believe these changes will allow us to navigate the current challenges of Covid-19, while ensuring we maintain the integrity of the draw and the format of the new Super Rugby Pacific competition. “ said Andy Marinos, Chief Executive Officer of Rugby Australia.

Complete fixture here.