Diego Simeone is the most winning coach of Atlético de Madrid

Diego Simeone arrived on December 23, 2011 at Atlético de Madrid to make his mark: a decade later, he became the winningest coach in his history with 8 titles.

On May 22, 2021 he got his second league at the helm of the rojiblanco bench, after the one achieved in 2013-14, which joins the 2012-13 Copa del Rey, the 2014 Spanish Super Cup, the two 2011-12 UEFA Europa League and 2017-18 and the two European Super Cups of 2012 and 2018, against Chelsea and Real Madrid, respectively.

All concentrated in the Simeone era, in the already 10 years that he has traveled for now as Atlético’s coach, since he arrived there between the crisis of the rojiblanco team, eliminated then by a Second B and in a lower position in the LaLiga classification while searching for the site of his history, and the desire of the ‘Cholo’ to mark an era with the Madrid club.

Simeone led Racing Club de Avellaneda in a second stage, the team in which he went from player to coach without pause in 2006, when it all happened in December 2011 for the biggest challenge of his career as a coach, Atlético de Madrid , one of the teams of his life, which he prepared years to reach one day.

So far, no one has won more titles than him as Atlético’s manager. Nor has anyone won more games than him. Not even Luis Aragonés, a myth, one of the greatest footballers and coaches of the club’s 118 years of existence, a formidable legend, who has been surpassed by Simeone as DT.

The 2020/21 League enlarges its route, already gigantic in Atlético, which it once again positioned among the greats, at the height of its history, in the place that belongs to it, but which it forgot during the first decade of the XXI century or during the last years of the 90, when it was relegated to Second.

In four and a half months he had already won his first title with Atlético: the UEFA Europa League. May 9, 2012At the Bucharest National Stadium, they beat Athletic Club 3-0 in the final, with a stellar Radamel Falcao. The Colombian attacker decided the final with two decisive goals from a triumph culminated by Diego Ribas.

The second dates from August 31, 2012: the European Super Cup, at the Louis II stadium in Monaco. Again with a formidable and incontestable Falcao beat Chelsea in a magnificent way, with an imposing meeting of the whole team, but especially of the scorer, indelible in the Madrid club.

Atlético won 4-1. The first half was already winning 3-0, with a ‘triplet’ from the Colombian ‘9’. Brazil’s Joao Miranda scored the fourth in the second half, while Gary Cahill scored from an overwhelmed Chelsea virtually from start to finish.

Atlético’s jump, in any case, was promoted by the third title, the following year, when the team already felt capable of any challenge, of beating anyone on any stage: the King’s Cup on May 17, 2013 at the Santiago Bernabéu stadium.

Against Real Madrid, in extra time, the group led by Simeone won 2-1. The final goal came from Miranda, who headed a cross from Koke Resurrección, after the tie to one with which the 90-minute regulation of rojiblanca resistance had ended, in which he equalized through a goal from Diego Costa.

The biggest, however, was completed just a year later, May 17, 2014, with a 1-1 draw at the Camp Nou with the header for the history of Diego Godín on the last day: La Liga 2013-14. Long-awaited for 18 years before, the season was memorable, with Atlético winning the duel they held throughout the tournament with Real Madrid and Barcelona. He added 90 points.

Then followed the Spanish Super Cup against Real Madrid, in 2014, with a 1-1 at the Santiago Bernabéu and a 1-0 at the Vicente Calderón, transformed by Mario Mandzukic as soon as the match began to pass from Antoine Griezmann, and then four years of drought, until the UEFA Europa League on May 16, 2018 in Lyon against Olympique Marseille, with two goals from Antoine Griezmann and one from Gabi Fernández, and the European Super Cup against Real Madrid on August 15, 2018 in extra time, with two goals from Diego Costa, one from Saúl Ñíguez and one from Koke Resurrección.