DeMarcus Ware and Andre Johnson Top Finalists for Hall of Fame

In total, 15 players were announced for the Precinct of the Immortals, including three in their first year of eligibility.

In total, three players in their first year of eligibilityincluding one of the all-time sack leaders, a historic catcher and one of the league’s most explosive special teams players, are finalists for the Class 2022 of Hall of Fame.

Defensive end / outside linebacker DeMarcus Ware, wide receiver Andre johnson and wide receiver / kick return specialist Devin Hester They are among the 15 finalists announced this Thursday. It is the third time in the last five years that at least three of the finalists are players in their first year of eligibility.

Up to five of the finalists will be selected next month for the Class 2022 of Hall of Fame. It is expected that the ceremony of exaltation of the Class 2022 in Canton, Ohio, is held in August, but specific dates have not yet been announced.

The late wide receiver Cliff Branch has already been chosen as a senior finalist, Dick Vermeil as a finalist coach, and former referee Art McNally is the contributor’s finalist.

The three eligible freshmen were selected to 20 Pro Bowls combined, Hester he retired as the NFL’s all-time leader in special teams touchdowns (20), as well as the record holder for the most touchdowns on punt returns (four) in a season. They join the defensive end Jared allen, the tackle Willie anderson, the cornerback / deep Ronde barber, the tackle Tony boselli, the deep Leroy butler, wide receiver Torry holt, linebacker Sam mills, defensive end / tackle Richard Seymour, linebacker Zach Thomas, wide receiver Reggie wayne, linebacker Patrick Willis and the defensive end / tackle Bryant young.

Yes Ware, Johnson or Hester are elected, it would be the ninth year in a row that at least one player in their first year of eligibility it is exalted. The Class of 2022 will be revealed on February 10 during the NFL Honors.

Ware he was selected to the Pro Bowl nine times in his career with the Dallas Cowboys and Denver Broncos. He’s ninth all-time in sacks – since he became an official stat in 1982 – at 138-5 and was a starter for the Broncos team that won Super Bowl 50.

Johnson, is a seven-time Pro Bowler with the Houston Texans, led the league twice in receiving yards (back-to-back in 2008 and 2009) and is 11th all-time in receptions (1,062) and yards received (14,185). Hester, who played for the Chicago Bears and Atlanta Falcons, is a rare finalist whose career was built primarily on excellence on special teams. He is a member of the team from the 2000s and 2010s.

Boselli is a finalist for the sixth time – the most among the players in this group – while Seymour is a finalist for the fourth time. Butler, Mills, Thomas, Holt and Wayne they are finalists for the third time. The deceased Mills, who died in 2005, is in his final year of eligibility as a modern-age candidate and will go into consideration as a senior next year if not elected.

Butler, who is the only player to have at least 20 sacks and 20 interceptions in his career, is the only member of the team from the 1990s who is not yet honored. His safety partner Steve Atwater, who was immortalized in the Class of 2020, was the only other remaining member of the team from the 1990s who had not been honored before last year’s double ceremony.