La AMB comenzó el 2021 con 43 campeones y lo terminó con 27

The World Boxing Association (WBA) It started in 2021 with 43 world champions and will finish with 27, and in seven divisions it already has a single monarch, so the reduction plan is on the right track.

Last August the AMB, chaired by Gilberto Mendoza Jr, began with a plan to reduce champions, because there were 43 supercamps, absolute and interim. Therefore, they began a process that is aimed at having only one champion in each category.

The first thing the agency did was declare all the interim titles vacant and with that decision 15 were subtracted.

There were fighters with two or more titles in different categories, such as Gervonta Davis, monarch in super featherweight, lightweight and super lightweight. Initially, the Tank He put down the 126-pound scepter and focused on the other two.

But after his fight with the Mexican Isaac “Pitbull” Cruz, Davis He left the 140-pound one vacant and only kept the 135-pound one. That was one more step in the reduction of titles, because with that decision, the super lightweight was left with only one monarch, Josh taylor.

In addition to Taylor, there are six other unique champions in the AMB: Dmitry Bivol, super light heavyweight champion; Jermell charlo, super champion super welterweight; Roger gutierrez, super featherweight champion; Murodjon Akhmadaliev, super champion super bantamweight; Naoya inoue, super champion bantamweight; Y Artem Dalakian, fly champion.

But the plan of the AMB is to continue with the reduction and there are already plans for 2022. The confirmed fight between the Mexican Esteban Bermúdez and Hiroto kyoguchi, regular champion and super light fly champion, respectively, will leave a single monarch at 108 pounds in the first quarter of the year, on a date to be confirmed.

There are also other Mexicans involved, such as Juan Francisco “Gallo” Estrada, super champion super fly, from whom the trilogy with Roman Gonzalez. The winner of said lawsuit would have to expose his title with the regular champion, Joshua Franco.

Leo Santa Cruz, super champion featherweight, would have to face the winner of the duel between the monarch Leigh wood Y Michael Conlan, who was another of the interim champions.

Yordenis ugas, super champion welterweight, was scheduled to expose his title with Eimantas Stanionis and the winner would be measured with Radzhab Butaev, regular monarch, to leave a single monarch in that division. But nevertheless, Ugas received permission from the body for a unification fight against the champion of the FIB and from CMB, Errol spence.

Erick rose, one of those who were interim champions and who was affected by the decision of the AMB. On December 21, he dethroned Victor Say Hello of the minimum title in its regular version- A lawsuit with the super champion is expected Thammanoon Niyomtrong to reduce one more title.

Thus, the AMB It will follow the process of leaving only one champion per category and having only 17 monarchs. It will analyze the state of each division, hoping to get closer and closer to that number in the next 2022.