Two-time champion Tomateros is one win away from another Final Series in the Mexican Pacific League

The Tomateros de Culiacán defeated the Algodoneros de Guasave 8-3 on Saturday to take a 3-1 lead in the best-of-seven semifinal series and move just one victory away from a new final in the Mexican Pacific League.

The Tomateros, who have won the last two editions of the contest, seek to become the second team in the history of the circuit to chain three championships in consecutive seasons, an achievement that only the Yaquis of Ciudad Obregón achieved between 2011 and 2013.

Víctor Mendoza was 3-2 with a home run and three RBIs and Jesús Fabela added a three-touch homer to lead the Tomateros attack, which included a one-run RBI double by Joey Meneses and two hits and an RBI by Emmanuel. Avila.

Aldo Montes (1-0) won the game with a sharp relief of four innings and a third in target of just two hits with four strikeouts. Jesús Huerta (0-1) took the loss after allowing three touchdowns and three hits in two-thirds of the inning.

At Monterrey, Ricardo Serrano was 3-2 with a double and two RBIs, Nick Torres was 5-2 with two RBIs, and the fiery Fernando Pérez was 3-1 with an RBI to lead the Sultanes de Monterrey in their 8-6 victory over the Charros de Jalisco, with which they tied the series at 2-2.

Jonás Garibay won (1-0) with 2 2/3 innings without allowing runs in relief work, and Irwin Delgado lost (0-1) after conceding two touchdowns in one 2/3 inning.