Criollos and Indios are one win away from advancing to the Final Series in LBPRC

The Criollos de Caguas defeated the Cangrejeros de Santurce 3-0 on Tuesday, while the Indios de Mayagüez defeated the Gigantes de Carolina 5-2, and both teams took advantage of three games against one in their respective semifinal series.

With one more victory, Criollos and Indios will resolve their respective series to the best in a maximum of seven duels, and will settle in the final of the Roberto Clemente Professional Baseball League of Puerto Rico.

In San Juan, Óscar De La Cruz threw a pitching gem to lead Caguas to victory.

De la Cruz (1-0) allowed only four hits in seven scoreless innings to win the game. He did not give walks on balls and prescribed four strikeouts.

The loser was Jason Garcia (0-1) after giving up four hits and one run in 4 1/3 innings.

Jonathan Morales hit a solo home run in the second to open the scoreboard, Juan Centeno increased the lead with a sacrifice fly in the sixth and Edwin Diaz hit a one-run single in the same inning to end the game.

In Carolina, Brett Rodríguez, TJ Rivera and Jim Haley hit two RBI singles in a three-run attack in the eighth frame, with which Mayagüez broke the tie.

Danny Ortíz had hit a two-run homer in the fifth inning to put Mayagüez’s first two runs on the scoreboard.

Nelvin Fuentes won (1-0) with one inning and two thirds without allowing runs. Eddy Tavarez lost (0-1), penalized with three touchdowns in just one episode.