This year there will be no entries to the "Hall of Fame"

This year will mark the first time in the history of the Tennis Hall of Fame (since 1955) that there have been no new inductees selected. Following the tabulation of the votes submitted for the Class of 2022 ballot, the official selection process has not resulted in any new members.

The International Tennis Hall of Fame will still hold the traditional Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in July 2022, because Class of 2021 member Lleyton Hewitt was unable to travel for the ceremony last year due to Covid-19 travel restrictions. It is scheduled to be listed in Newport, Rhode Island on July 16, 2022.

To be selected, a candidate must receive an affirmative vote of 75% or more of the combined results of the Official Voting Pool and any bonus percentage points earned in the ITHF Fans’ Vote. The Official Voting Group is an independent body made up of media, historians, Hall of Famers and industry experts who participate annually in voting for the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

The nominees on the Class of 2022 ballot were Cara Black from Zimbabwe, Juan Carlos Ferrero from Spain, Ana Ivanović from Serbia, Carlos Moyá from Spain, Flavia Pennetta from Italy, and Lisa Raymond from the United States.

In November, it was announced that Cara Black, Flavia Pennetta, and Ana Ivanovic placed first, second, and third, respectively, in the ITHF fan vote. They each earned bonus points for the results of the Fan Vote, but that doesn’t guarantee induction into the Hall of Fame.

All nominees will appear on the ballot again next year, as ITHF enshrinement policies and procedures state that Hall of Fame nominees remain on the ballot for up to three years, if not voted on.

Todd Martin, CEO of the International Tennis Hall of Fame, commented: “The International Tennis Hall of Fame induction process is a multi-step process of review and consideration by committees and voters. The determination of who deserves induction into the Hall of Fame rests with the Official Voting Pool, a group of independent voters who come from a variety of backgrounds in the sport and all have a keen understanding of the breadth of the sport’s history.” .