Panorama towards the 2022 Caribbean Series is clearing

The Los Santos Astronauts of Panamanian baseball are the closest to the Caribbean Series, whose 2022 edition is scheduled to be held in Santo Domingo, capital of the Dominican Republic, from January 28 to February 3.

The small Latin American World Series annually faces the champion teams of the Caribbean winter baseball tournaments from Colombia, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, Panama and the Dominican Republic. The tournament will return to the Quisqueya Juan Marichal stadium for the first time since 2016.

The Astronauts defeated the Federales de Chiriquí 4-1, on Wednesday, at the start of the final series of the Panamanian Baseball League (Probeis), agreed to a maximum of five games. All matches will be played at the Rod Carew Stadium in Panama City.

The final of the Colombian Professional Baseball League (LPB), a 7-4 between the Cowboys of Montería and the Caimanes of Barranquilla, will begin on Saturday at the Edgar Rentería stadium in Barranquilla, which will be the only venue for the playoff.

On Saturday, hostilities will also begin between the Tomateros de Culiacán and the Charros de Jalisco to define the champion of the Mexican Pacific League (LMP). The first two matches of the final will be played at the Pan-American Stadium in Zapopan, home of the Charros, and the next three at the Tomateros Stadium.

Culiacán, who won the 2019-20 and 2020-21 tournaments, advanced to the final for the third consecutive season to go in search of the first three-time championship in its history. Only the Naranjeros de Hermosillo (16) hold more titles than Culiacán (13) in the Aztec winter ball.

Jalisco is contesting a final for the third time since returning to the LMP in 2014. Los Charros won the 2018-19 tournament championship.

In Puerto Rico’s Roberto Clemente Professional Baseball League (LBPRC), the Indios de Mayagüez eliminated the Carolina Giants in the semifinals to reach their third final series in a row. In it they will face the winner of the semifinal between the Criollos de Caguas and the Cangrejeros de Santurce. The Caguas champions dominate 3-2.

In the Dominican Republic and Venezuela they are playing semi-finals all against all that are close to completion.

The Gigantes del Cibao (9-4) and the Estrellas Orientales (7-6) occupy the two places leading to the final of the Dominican League (Lidom), while the historic Águilas Cibaeñas and Tigres del Licey have a record of 5- 8, subtracting five days to the playoff. Águilas is the current monarch of the Quisqueyan tournament.

In the Venezuelan League (LVBP), the current champions Caribes de Anzoátegui dominate the round robin with a record of 8-4, the Navegantes de Magallanes have 8-4 and the Cardenales de Lara 7-6 with four pending playoff dates.